Amatriciana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
OMG, my husband and kids absolutely loved this recipe. I added a couple more slices of bacon, fresh portabella mushrooms and used whole wheat linguine. Easy peasy family pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BertsMert

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Easy and quick to make, family loved it too. A no nonsense recipe guaranteed to please.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
We really liked this! It will be added to our "make again" recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Belleville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I made this twice in a row. It was very delicious. Added double the bacon, and triple the red pepper flakes as well as some Italian spices (Rosemary, Oregano, etc.) to give it a bit more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Easy and great use of pantry staples! Crushed pepper gives a great kick. Didn't have basil and still loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Great recipe. Delicious. I added extra garlic and used dried basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
I've never had this before, but it sounded interesting and my DH likes just about anything with bacon. I resisted added a bunch more veggies and opted to just serve them on the side. I was glad I did. The flavors worked so well together. I did add 1/4 jar of roasted red peppers simply because I needed to use them up and I had thrown out all but 1 teaspoon of the bacon before reading that I should use the grease to sautee the onions. I cooked the bacon in the microwave and then diced the slices, added it to a skillet and continued from there. Thanks for the great recipe. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
New favorite pasta! Used a whole onion and five pieces of thick Costco applewood smoked bacon. That added a nice sweetness. So good, cheap and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
My husband and I recently went to Carrabba's for dinner one night and we both had a dish with pasta amatriciana in it. My husband really liked it, so he asked me to make it one night for dinner. I found this recipe and decided to try it. I didn't have stewed tomatoes, so I used diced tomatoes and replaced the bacon with bacon bits since I didn't have any bacon and simmered it for a while since I had to wait for my husband to get home from work. I tasted the sauce before tossing it with the pasta and tasted the "kick" from the crushed red pepper, but when the sauce was added, I no longer tasted that kick. I felt the pasta just sucked up the sauce, so I'm thinking of cutting down the amount of pasta to 12 ounces next time to see if that helps. I noticed the picture shown in the recipe has the sauce on top of the pasta, but it's suppose to be mixed in with it. That's one thing my husband liked about the dish at Carrabba's. Since my husband gave this a two thumbs up, I will be making this again, just reducing the amount of pasta or possibly using a thinner pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
This recipe is such a great start to an amazing meal! I of course tailor it to our taste: -add kalamata olives and white wine to the onions when they are cooking -use san marzano crushed tomatoes instead of stewed and cook for 20 mins -double the bacon -add shrimp right at the end! It is one of our go-to meals, it seems like a fancy dish when really it's incredibly easy to prepare! Also, we have used lobster in place of the shrimp and was just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Amatriciana

This classic spicy Italian tomato sauce stars bacon and fresh basil.

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States