Amatriciana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
We love this. It is one of those rare meals that everyone in my family actually likes. I do follow the recipe as stated. One piece of advice when using canned sauces is to add a little sugar to remove the bitter/acidic flavor. I also added just a touch of salt. The bacon is the key to making this sauce super yummy. This is definitely going into our rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Very unimpressed. Won't make again. Made as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Delicious. Followed the recipe as written (used Italian style stewed tomatoes) and it is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
This is very bland....I will not make again ; (
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I made this for my fiance tonight and added extra red pepper flakes, he loved it! If you don't like it too spicy, just stick to the recipe amount or less, very quick and easy. i used diced tomatoes instead of stewed because I had some at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene Somerville

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Oh gosh, I have been making this recipe for years and love it! It is so simple and so delicious. I use angel hair pasta in place of the linguine (just personal preference - I like the lighter texture and taste) and omit the pepper flakes. As for the tomatoes, sometimes I use stewed, sometimes diced and sometimes I will even use fresh tomatoes I cut up myself. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
This recipe is amazing! The only change I made was to substitute onion powder for fresh onion because my fresh onion makes my finacee sick. The bacon adds a wonderful smokiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Nothing to write home about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I want to try this recipe but my husband doesn't like chunks of tomato in his food. Does anyone think if I puree the tomatoes it would change the flavor? I don't think it should.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Banacka Laubach

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I don't usually write a review...this recipe is perfect the way it is...(Old old old original recipes call for pancetta...which most groceries carry...it is what I used...but bacon is just as delicious.) What I don't understand is the addition of dried (!!) herbs to this sauce. It is a beautiful smokey fresh tasting tomato sauce that is quick and easy and authentic. It is not supposed to taste like American Prego or Ragu or anything from Olive Garden with dried herbs...MAYBE with the exception of a bit of fresh parsley added towards the end. Try it like it is...if you have ever been to Italy you will recognize this as the real deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amatriciana

This classic spicy Italian tomato sauce stars bacon and fresh basil.

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States