Amateur's Light Breeze Chicken Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
i did not love this. the flavor was ok but it just wasn't all there. i think i will look for a "white" chicken chili next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Absolutely DELISH! I did boil 3 chicken breasts then shredded it instead of the canned chicken and only added 1 cup of water. I also added 2TBS flour mixed with 1/4 cup of cold water to thicken it just a bit. I let it simmer only 30 minutes because I was short on time. The flavor is soooo good and it does have 'heat' but we like it that way - even my 10 year old daughter! Will make again and again...yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkubitski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Amateur's Light Breeze Chicken Chili Haiku: "Gasp! 10 cups water? That's gotta be a typo. This still tasted good." So I used about 2 c. of shredded chicken that I'd frozen a couple weeks back, drastically cut back on the water (maybe 1 c. at most) and I had to use 1 can chili beans, and 1 can kidney. Dumped it in the crockpot b4 work, and came home to a chili that was still on the watery-side, due to well, the 3 undrained cans of tomatoes, the chicken broth, and the water, that as I said, I'd reduced. I thought it was pretty dang tasty, and probably one that I'd consider making again w/ 1. add garlic 2. drop all water 3. fresh jalapenos, or no jar at all and 4. fresh chick, not canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
This was very easy, hearty, and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Gulgren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Soooooo spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hlj1109

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Good! Hot & Spicy! Thanks For The Recipe. Will Make Again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2010
I cant believe how yuumyy this is. I had a can chicken and found this. To keep it super simple I used dried shallots and dried green and red pepper. Delicious! I'm so surprised. Given the simplicity and flavor this is 5 stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Did recipe mods based on another member's review. Used precooked chicken fajita meat (was in my freezer). Sauteed onion, green pepper. Added tomato, beans, mild chile. Sauteed some garlic with chicken - into the pot with the rest added a bit of hot sauce, cumin. Had it with nice fresh bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This was awesome! And I even used the canned chicken! Didn't have jalapenos so added more red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wawa_md

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
I think those that were freaked out by the canned chicken missed the part where you were in college. This sounds like a poor mans chili! It was actually really good. But, having graduated from college twice, I don't do canned anything anymore if I can help it. So, I did mesquite smoked chicken breasts (4 medium) and I had a few chicken legs left over that had been cooked over smoke the previous night. I combined that with some turkey sausage I smoked with the breast and went from there. I didnt use near the liquid required. And I used chicken stock the whole way. Six cups I think and I still had to thicken it with some cornstarch (but not much). Also tossed in a little cayenne, ground mustard. This was a good recipe and it tasted even better the next day. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARFISHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Demopolis, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili

This zesty white-bean chili packs some heat!

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States