Amateur's Light Breeze Chicken Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2007
Here's how to make it a five star: As it was, this recipe was likely about a four star, but with a few improvements, it's easily a five. Canned chicken creeps me out too (as one other reviewer stated), so I used 3 real chicken breasts. While boiling the breasts, I sauteed the onions and peppers for about 5 minutes prior to adding them to 2 cans Mex stewed tomatoes (which I had chopped), 2 can of chili beans, and a half jar of jalapenos (which I had chopped). After the chicken was cooked through, I melted about 1 T of butter and sauteed 2 cloves of garlic, then added the shredded/cubed chicken and seasoned it with about 2 T of Frank's Red Hot. I then added it to the pot along with 1T of cumin and 1T of chili powder. Then added 1 can of chicken broth and 1 can of water. About 20 minutes into simmering, I noted the soupiness, so I mixed about 3T of cornstarch and 3-4 T of water together, and then added it to the pot and mixed well. It turned out amazing... thick, healthy, delicious, and just the right amount of spiciness not to interfere with the flavor. I also served it over a slice of wheat bread w/ a piece of fat free cheese on top... outstanding :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Burdett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Templeton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
This chili was a little more soupy than what I'm used to, but it tastes GREAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
This was amazing! I added an extra onion, lots of garlic, used less jalapeno and cumin and real chicken cut up into tiny little bites and prepared it in the slow cooker, amazing, spicy, flavorful! Definitely more like a soup. I put it over brown rice for a healthier option, Incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2004
I took a chance on this recipe because it sounded spicy and I'm glad I did! It was WONDERFUL! I used real cubed chicken breast(something about meat from a can doesn't sound appealing) and halved the recipe. I used 2 1/2 cans of Rotel tomatoes instead of the stewed(too slimey). I used black beans instead of chili beans, a whole can of sliced jalapenos,1 tablespoon of chili powder, and 1 tablespoon of cumin and the can of chicken broth. I only needed to add about 1/2 cup of water after it had been cooking a while. Although this dish was too spicy for the rest of my family to eat I really enjoyed it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: Mill Creek, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
Very easy and flavorful- but I generally like spicy things, and this one was a little too spicy, even for me! I will make it again, but will use less jalapeños next time. Also- it did store very well, I made the whole 15 servings, and froze half. A month later I put that half in the crock pot for about 8 hours and it tasted just as good as the first time around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: North Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
It was delicious but definitely way too hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2005
This was excellent very easy to make. It was more of a soup than a chili but it is a great and very filling soup. I didn't add any water just 5 cups of chicken broth. I only added 1tbsp of cumin because it is so powerful. I also added basil, bay leaves, and thyme. A really great and easy recipe, everyone liked it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sexsmith, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2004
So great! I agreed with the other reviews...too much water, I cut the recipe in half, and took out one cup of water. I added a can of Kidney beans and eliminated the bell peppers. I also added about 3 tablespoons of flour to thicken the soup. wonderful recipe! Very easy, very quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
I cant believe how yuumyy this is. I had a can chicken and found this. To keep it super simple I used dried shallots and dried green and red pepper. Delicious! I'm so surprised. Given the simplicity and flavor this is 5 stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
I have to be honest... I was looking forward to this chili all day. The first batch I made was so blazing hot, no one could eat it. So, I made it a second time without the jalapenos~ still pretty darn spicy. Next time, I'll make a few more adjustments. The consistency was great and sooooo easy to make. I'm going to keep trying :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYDNICONNALLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili

This zesty white-bean chili packs some heat!

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States