Amaretto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
I have to say that this is VERY close if not dead on to the taste of the real deal. I've done the blind taste test with 10 people. Surprisingly 80% liked the homemade better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorlak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA
Photo by Rob Van de Wetering
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
I am really impressed with this recipe! I swapped the amounts for white and brown sugar around so my spirit is the same colour as "the original one". I also added some glycerine to get that sirope liqueur texture, don't add to much! Start with just a little and taste. Taste is really good and will improve over the weeks! Here in New Zealand you allowed to distill your own alcohol! So great to make my own almond liqueur now Thanks for sharing UPDATE 26-07-14 after a few tests I noticed that alcohol% is to low compare with the 28% amaretto from italy so I replaced the 1 cup water with alcohol (vodka) as well so three cups alcohol, no water. I don't heat it! I put everything in my Kitchen Aid machine and mix it cold for about 30 minute's so sugar is dissolved as well ( longer if needed) The alcohol I use is homebrew 40% alcohol but with all the sugar and extract you around 29% I guess. You always can the one cup water replaced with half water half alcohol if its to strong for you. Not for us living in New Zealand :-) enjoy but drink responsibly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Easy to make and wonderful. I use it in our distillery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
This is a great recipe, I used dark brown sugar since the recipe didn't specify. It gets better the longer it sits. I made it a week ago and have tested a small bit every day. The taste just gets smoother as it sits. Thanks for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
So easy, so delicious! I have made this more than a dozen times and never a fail. I have went as far as bottling it and giving it as gifts for the holidays. I like to use the dark brown sugar, and if available, 1/2 cherry vodka and 1/2 regular. All of our friends ask us to bring it to parties. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I make this every year as Christmas gifts. I like using dark brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
This recipe was spot on!. I can't believe how easy it was to make and how thoroughly it resembled premium commercial brands. I used my own home made extracts in place of store bought & let the amaretto mature for a few weeks before serving. Definitely use dark brown sugar!!!Starting a huge batch now for an upcoming family reunion. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Majory!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
This is very yummy! I may never buy Amaretto again. I used dark brown sugar and that gives it a beautiful amber color. This tastes especially good when stored in an empty Disaronno bottle!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I used Whipped Cream flavored vodka when making this (for the 3rd time!) loved it! Has a slightly different flavor, maybe sort of a almond cream soda sort of flavor. All my friends thought it was awesome, will be making more for gifts and maybe using other flavored vodkas as well. Thanks for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Omg! I absolutely need new glasses! I misread the quantities of vanilla as 2 tablespoons and I doubled the recipe. Then I only had 1 tablespoon of almond extract so this is not going well for me. I wanted to make this for my guests for Christmas but I don't think I can serve it as is. I made my own dark brown sugar with white sugar and molasses so that was not a concern. I was tempted to use a vanilla bean but was uncertain on how much to put in. I am so upset with myself for destroying this recipe because I was really looking forward to trying it. Better luck next time I guess but I will give this recipe a 4 anyway as it smells wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Amaretto Sour Cocktail

A little sweet, a little tart, this refreshing cocktail is simply delicious.

How to Make Red Hot Liqueur

This beautiful, sweet-and-spicy, cinnamon-flavored liqueur is so easy to make.

The Vortex Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender make a sweet and fruity vodka cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States