Amaretto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I figured the best way to compare is to do a side by side comparison :) I followed the recipe exactly and used dark brown sugar. Two shots side by side the color was slightly different but I'm thinking it's just my brand of dark brown sugar. The scent of both was pretty dead on but Disarono has a slight rubbing alchohol leftover scent towards the end. Finally the taste test, the Disaronno had a slightly stronger and sharper aftertaste. This amaretto had a smoother, fuller, and a tad bit sweeter taste to it. Surprisingly I'd have to say I like this amaretto more than Disaronno. Give it a try. It's worth the effort and ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I made this last year during the holidays. For homemade it was really good. It was a little sweeter and the color was a little off from Disaronno, but other than that it was tasty. Next time I'll cut back on the sugar just a tad as I like to make Amaretto Sours and it was a little too sweet with the sour mix. I will def make again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerstin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Yum, yum, yummy!!!! I made it this weekend and it was awesome!!!!! I now need to find almond extract in bulk.... :~)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fredonia, New York, USA
Living In: Newark, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Fantastic, this is just wonderful. Why have I never discovered Amaretto before??? Plan on serving this to guests on Sunday. Now I know just how easy it is to make I will make another batch to use in the various desserts that require it on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Fantastic! Better than store bought, and the better the vodka you use the better the result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T L Dixon

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Really good, tastes just like commercially prepared. Because of dietary restrictions I used Splenda (brown & white) still very good. Will never buy Amaretto at the liquor store again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Oh, Yumm! Made dark brown sugar by adding some molasses to light brown sugar. Quick cooled the pan by rubbing ice cubes over it, then took it to the neighbors for a taste test. Now I have to make her some for the W/E. This is a great recipe & so easy! Thanks for sharing, Marjory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodeats

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Kingman, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Excellent Amaretto. Quik and Easy! Very Eleagant Holiday Gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Oh my gosh - wonderful!! Be sure to use dark brown sugar....what a great holiday gift!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grosse Pointe Woods, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Although I've never tasted store bought Amaretto this was a real hit at a college house party! I kept getting rave reviews on it and they were quite surprised that I made it. =) I don't care much for almond flavors but this was absolutely delicious mixed with Sprite. I also used this to make Tiramisu inspired cupcakes and they came it great and look forward to baking with it more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hilo, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amaretto Sour Cocktail

A little sweet, a little tart, this refreshing cocktail is simply delicious.

How to Make Red Hot Liqueur

This beautiful, sweet-and-spicy, cinnamon-flavored liqueur is so easy to make.

The Vortex Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender make a sweet and fruity vodka cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States