Amaretto Shrimp Almandine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Way too sweet for an entree, the shrimp were delicious so we took them out and ate them with sweet chili dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Has a good taste, but too sweet. Use much less honey and a little less amaretto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
The shrimp was delicious, but the pasta was not, and it was too sweet to eat as a main dish. Solution - cut the amount of sauce in half, and leave out the pasta. Serve as an appetizer. Letting everyone have just a few bites of these shrimp is the perfect amount without going overboard on the sticky sweetness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
This recipe is very tasty if you reduce the amount of honey and amaretto to about 1/4 cup. It gives it a nice sweet but not too overpowering taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
My husband LOVED this! I personally thought it was a bit too sticky and sweet but overall liked the flavor! He DEVOURED it. Next time, more amaretto, less honey (we also didnt catch anything on fire, we just ate it the way it was)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington Court House, Ohio, USA
Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
YUCK - This pasta was super duper sweet. We will not be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
This dish was a good pasta dish. Everyone I cooked it for liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
This recipe is WAY to sweet for me, and I can eat sugar out of the box! I would suggest putting less liquid (less honey and less amaretto liquor), and finding something to balance the sugaryness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
I'm sorry but as much as we like new things and love seafood at our house this recipe will not be added to our list of favorites. The amout of Amaretto liqueur was way too strong and too sweet. Sorry not again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2003
This is so sweet that it's really a dessert! My husband is used to me trying new dishes and isn't picky. However he said, "This is the worst thing you've made in ten years!! (He's normally very gracious and not quite so blunt, so I knew this was BAD!!!) We salvaged the shrimp from it and threw the rest out. The flavor was o.k. if this was a dessert, but as a seafood entree it turned our stomachs!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Marinated Grilled Shrimp

Grilling marinated shrimp makes a fast, flavorful main dish.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States