Amaretto Roasted Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Loved this Chicken! I used way too much amaretto and basted throughout the baking process. It was a little too sweet and candied at first but then I remmebered the little lemon in his butt and squeezed that on the meat and the tartness really set off the sweet flavor. I would recommend roasting a whole lemon. I also rubbed the skin with garlic and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frankenmuth, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
This was really good and alot of taste for a low sodium diet. I changed very little. I added chopped fresh Rosemary to the butter and spread this paste under the skin along with rubbing it on the outside of the skin. To the drippings I added no sodium chicken granulated flavoring (it's like boulion with out all the salt, found in any grocery store)reduced the drippings then added some flour to thicken. You don't have to be on a low sodium diet to like this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
The chicken is delicious and very tender, I would add a one more person to the amount of people you are actually serving because the chicken goes fast. It is also very easy to make with barley any fuss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
This was awesome, I submerged the chicken in saltwater in the fridge over night then washed it all off before I cooked it. I also put some butter cuts on the breast under the skin. I don’t feel like it was too greasy at all, and I am very sensitive to greasy things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Harrah, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
I was concerned when I read that this dish turned out greasey for the reviewer below so I added some chicken stock to this recipe. As the chicken was roasting, I would baste it every 25 minutes or so. I would alternate between using chicken stock and amaretto and I think that it helped add another layer of flavor and kept the chicken a little moister.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
The flavors blend well together but it is very heavy and greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This is a classic (and classy), no fail recipe. My husband loves this and think that if we were to find it in a restaurant the dish would easily be $30 per person. I add small mushroom, onions and carrots around the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springtown, Texas, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
I had 3 small chickens to use. I rubbed all with garlic then the butter. I then threw garlic, 1/2 a lemon and a couple of tbs. of fresh thyme and 1 tbs. of butter in the chicken. Poured the amaretto over and sprinkled with a little more thyme. I don't think all the butter is really necessary. Very tender, juicy and flavourful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
The chicken was very tender and flavorful, but the drippings in the pan were useless for gravy. It tasted like straight liqueur. I tried everything I could think of to tone down the amaretto flavor, but it was too overpowering... even without adding the additional 1/4 cup amaretto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
This was so yummy! We fixed brown rice and mixed veggies to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pendleton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States