Amaretto Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
This cake was delicious, but after reading the reviews I changed some of the recipe. I doubled the apricots and used less Amaretto which wasn't necessary, the extra apricots could handle the Amaretto. I would also put some frosting on the layers with the apricots or use less powdered sugar because it was alot of icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHLOWRY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
I thought the cake was too strong at first. Then I put the leftovers in the refrigerator and the next day the cake tasted great! Next time I'll refrigerate the cake overnight before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willoughby, Ohio, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
My friends went nuts over this delicious cake. I will definately make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
I made this cake for my sister's birthday and everyone loved it! I did make a few changes though. I used Chambord (raspberry liqueur) instead of Amaretto, substituted canned raspberries for apricots, added some raspberry fruit spread to the filling to give it a thicker consistency, and topped the icing with some fresh raspberries. It was so delicious. Only thing I will do differently next time is cut the icing measurements in half- it made way too much icing for one cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
I have been making this recipe for over four years, and here are my suggestions and/or recipe changes: 1) Substitute three cans of Solo apricot filling for the apricots (will make layer filling much thicker and tastier) 2) For cake mix, use Duncan Hines Butter Golden cake 3) Add two to three tablespoons of pure almond extract Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
I made this cake for a friend that loves Amaretto and it was a "WOW" reaction. I took the advice of others and did not do this filling recipe. I could not find Solo apricot. So, I cut up 3 bags of dried apricots, soaked them in water for 20 minutes and cooked them until tender. I processed them with 3/4 c. of sugar and 2/3 c. of amaretto. It was great and enough for 3 layers. I also added 2 teas. of almond extract to the cake batter. My icing was too thin even with adding lots more sugar. Next time, I will use 12 oz. of cream cheese. I covered the cake with toasted, sliced almonds. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
I made as the recipe states but less sugar in the frosting(2 cups instead of 4). Tried layering the filling first then the frosting but that got messy! Then tried frosting first then filling. But I think the point is for the filling to soak into the cake. But all in all it was a wonderful cake!! It goes best with cofee!! I am eating a piece right now with my coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Maybe consider reducing the filling down a bit so the cake isn't as soaked with amaretto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
This is the very BEST cake I have tasted - I made it for a group of friends who immediately wanted the recipe. Don't change a thing - it's just perfect. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Texas City, Texas, USA
Living In: Rio Frio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Wonderful, it tastes and looks like you spent a lot of time making it but is fairly simple. The only change I would make is to reduce the amount of cream cheese and powdered sugar in the frosting by half. It was way too much for just frosting the sides and top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irene

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States