Amaretto Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
I made this cake for a friend that loves Amaretto and it was a "WOW" reaction. I took the advice of others and did not do this filling recipe. I could not find Solo apricot. So, I cut up 3 bags of dried apricots, soaked them in water for 20 minutes and cooked them until tender. I processed them with 3/4 c. of sugar and 2/3 c. of amaretto. It was great and enough for 3 layers. I also added 2 teas. of almond extract to the cake batter. My icing was too thin even with adding lots more sugar. Next time, I will use 12 oz. of cream cheese. I covered the cake with toasted, sliced almonds. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
I have been making this recipe for over four years, and here are my suggestions and/or recipe changes: 1) Substitute three cans of Solo apricot filling for the apricots (will make layer filling much thicker and tastier) 2) For cake mix, use Duncan Hines Butter Golden cake 3) Add two to three tablespoons of pure almond extract Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
I made this cake for my sister's birthday and everyone loved it! I did make a few changes though. I used Chambord (raspberry liqueur) instead of Amaretto, substituted canned raspberries for apricots, added some raspberry fruit spread to the filling to give it a thicker consistency, and topped the icing with some fresh raspberries. It was so delicious. Only thing I will do differently next time is cut the icing measurements in half- it made way too much icing for one cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
My friends went nuts over this delicious cake. I will definately make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
I thought the cake was too strong at first. Then I put the leftovers in the refrigerator and the next day the cake tasted great! Next time I'll refrigerate the cake overnight before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willoughby, Ohio, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
Wonderful and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2003
I'm sorry to say I found this recipe disappointing. It didn't have the rich Amaretto flavor I was hoping for. I DID, however, love the apricot/Amaretto puree, and will use that again with a different cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
This cake was delicious, but after reading the reviews I changed some of the recipe. I doubled the apricots and used less Amaretto which wasn't necessary, the extra apricots could handle the Amaretto. I would also put some frosting on the layers with the apricots or use less powdered sugar because it was alot of icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHLOWRY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2002
This cake tasted pretty good, but if I make it again I will make a change. The recipe states blending the amaretto and the apricots until smooth then spread filling on cake. Well, my filling didn't spread.. it poured. It was like orange water. I wasn't sure about this, but went ahead and finsihed recipe. The cake tasted good, but for me and my guests...the filling had a little too much amaretto bite. I think, next time, I will use 2 cans of apricots and maybe 1/3 cup of amaretto in the filling. This isn't a cake that would appeal to little kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2001
this cake is very delicious indeed. the only downside to this cake it that it is somewhat of a costly cake to make. but all in all, it is very delicious. more of an adult type of cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States