Amaretto Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
My first attempt in making this dish went well. Everything had a nice flavor, except the amaretto cream sauce on top. I think I used too much. Another issue was the type of amaretto I had. I bought a cheap, knock-off brand (Hiram Walker). It should NOT be used for cooking, only for mixing drinks haha! I think if I had bought the Disaronno, I would have been a lot happier. I will let y'all know next time I make it. Also, I made this dish with Basil instead of Tarragon, and Romano instead of Gruyere, and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicholas Walker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
One of our family favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
The only change I made to this recipe was to use dried tarragon in place of fresh. I also halved it and served it over sticky rice. We love this type of dinner! I served this with a garden salad full of veggies, and that's all we needed! The sauce was great. If I didn't have Amaretto on hand, I'd think sherry, brandy, or white wine would go well with this. If you leave out the capers (or the Kalamata olives as some have subbed), then you would have a sweeter sauce----that's the purpose of the capers. Thanks for a wonderful meal last night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
This dish was amazing. Flavor was certainly not lacking! Instead of just cream, I used half and half; instead of Gruyere cheese, I used Sargento Artisan blends of cheddar and parmasean; I used 1/4 cup of amaretto; I used dried marjoram instead of tarragon, and left the capers out; I also made a little roux to go in with the onion mix. I paired this dish with homemade cheese biscuits and candied yams. Great meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Not a big fan. I like all the ingredients in this dish except the Amaretto, too sweet. I think a red wine would have been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
I just made this dish per the recipe and it was wonderful. As with other reviewers, I felt the sauce was a bit thin, but my company said she preferred thin sauces to thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WileyP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnetka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
My husband has made this recipe countless times and it is fantastic! Thanks so much for the recipe! This is one of our favorite chicken recipes and one we frequently make for guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bsuever

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
this is really good, I've made it twice. THe first time I made it with kalmatta olives because that's all I had. The second time I used both capers and kalmatta olives. My kids and whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
Excellent recipe and extremely flavorful. It was liked by everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
I thought this was great but my husband kept commenting on the sweet almound taste - duh Amaretto! He didn't like it though, so probably won't make it just for myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCattlemansWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clovis, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Pie Town, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States