Amaretto Cheesecake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2000
A 10 in. springform works perfect. A pastry chef told me the general rule is to use a 10 in. if the recipe calls for 4- 8 oz. packages of cream cheese and an 8 or 9 in. for 3- 8 oz. packages or less. Use the cheap, dry cookies for the crust, otherwise you will have to lessen the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2001
I thought this cheesecake was wonderful. No leftovers. It has a light ameretto flavor, not too overpowering. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hamtramck, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clifford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2002
This is sooo good! I made it but I used vanilla waffers and fine ground pecans (half & half) for the crust. also next time I will use a larger piece of foil around the outside of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSFOR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2002
The taste was great! Everyone really enjoyed it! I think it's the best of what I've done so far in the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2002
I decided to try this recipe since it sounded delicious. I baked it in a 450 degree oven as the recipe required and the top had a tough skin looking overcooked and brown. The kitchen smelled like I had burned something. I still had 22 minutes to go and decided to reduce the temperature to 350 and cover the cheesecake with foil. I do not think that I cooked it long enough but felt that the 450 temperature had to be a mistake. The cheescake was tasty and the macaroon crust/top was delicious. It was, however, not cooked enough in the middle but no one seemed to notice or care. It did not crack or split. I am curious about the cooking temperature and ways to prevent the over-browning of the top. 450 degrees seems a little too hot. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
The flavors in this cheesecake were very good, I had a slight problem with cooking it in a roasting pan and getting the macaroon cookies and butter to combine nicely. Overall it was a good cheesecake but not very simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
Turned out beautifully for my dinner party and was a fantastic hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Stewart

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bardstown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
Well, this was my first attempt at a cheesecake and it was definitely a learning experience. First of all, I had the same problem as another reviewer, the 450 temperature seemed too hot. I too had to turn the temperature down after about 40 minutes. I covered the top with foil to keep it from getting any darker and baked it for another 20 minutes. After removing it from the oven and letting it set for two hours I removed the cake from the pan and it was completely uncooked in the centre! So I forced it back into the pan and baked it for another hour at 350 and it was okay after that...not pretty, but okay. A little whipped cream and some sliced almonds on top prettied it up a bit. So I'll definitely know what to do for next time, and by the way, the taste was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
This cheescake had a WONDERFUL flavor but it was not easy! Deciding that the farenheight/celsius degrees had been accidently switched, I chose to bake my cheescake at the 230 temp. Well I ended up baking it for 2 hours! I was really disappointed because this had been the dessert that I had been bragging about for the week leading up to Thanksgiving. I still brough it and people liked it but it never set to the right consistency even after 2 hours. Very good taste just wish it had been easier to make and had set right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
Excellent cheesecake, for a family who is used to blan tastes they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Kahlúa Pumpkin Cheesecake

See how to make a rich, marbled pumpkin cheesecake flavored with Kahlúa.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States