Amaretto Cheesecake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by ggglitch
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
Very good cheesecake, but not the best Amaretto Cheesecake I've tasted/made. I followed the directions exactly with the exception of adding a bit more liqueur. The flavor of the cheesecake was phenomenal. The texture is quite dense, which I don't mind, but the cheesecake was a tad dry. Next time I will consider either using less sour cream, or adding more cream cheese. I baked for 55min, shut the oven off and left it in there for an hour before taking it out of the oven. I got rave reviews from friends and family though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ggglitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
I made this cheesecake exactly as posted. Do not get me wrong, it did not taste bad. It was extremely too dense and did not taste like cheesecake or amaretto. I do not even know how to describe the taste. All I can say is I am disappointed. Amaretto cheesecake is my favorite flavor. But I do not recommend this recipe. I will not even attempt it again. I tried to give it away and no one even wanted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindseye117

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
First cheesecake i ever made....best cheesescake my wife and i have ever had. This recipe will be staying with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
Have made this cheesecake multiple times without any changes to the recipe. Flavorful and balanced. The recipes for both the cake and crust have the correct amounts of ingredients to put together a standard cheesecake. Instead of amaretto, you can flavor it any way you want, throw chocoloate chips or chunks in it, whatever. There are whole articles on the net devoted to baking cheesecakes with crack-free tops. I personally don't care whether it cracks or not. For best taste, especially when using the Amaretto liqueur, bake the cake a day or two before to allow the flavor to age.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wynantskill, New York, USA
Living In: Black Forest, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
I took other reviewers' advice and this turned out really good. It wasn't great, but it was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYDAWNE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mount Airy, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
Delicious cheesecake!!! my first attempt and this was absolutly amazing. I followed the previous tips and it worked out really well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liljessyboop

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
I've made this cake several times, and have gotten rave reviews from it: even my mother, who usually dislikes cheesecake, loves this one. The ingredients and proportions in this recipe are perfect - don't change a thing! The baking time, however, is a problem: don't bake this only for an hour then take it out of the oven, you'll end up with a half-cooked heavy mess. I bake it for 52 to 55 minutes, *shut off the oven*, then leave the cake in for another hour and five minutes. This will cook the cake completely and prevent it from cracking while it does so. Allow the cake to cool before putting it in the fridge, and *leave it there* for a day - it'll taste divine. This cake is very light and creamy, and tastes wonderful. The recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Youmna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
I made this recipe last night and I thought it was great. I don't know how it turned out to runny for one of the other users. It did not have a strong Amaretto flavor like the others said so I bought a can of cherry pie filling and that was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
The result was very good, but as a lot of people before i made adjustments: i followed especially one previous review and added more crackers (i actually used 1/2 cup more of amaretto cookies), butter and sugar for the base and used a 10"pan. I also used yogurt instead of sour cream (to make /2 little lighter) and only 1 and 1/2 tsp of cornstarch. Definitly a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pink Manta

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
Finished product was good, but make sure to follow another reviewer's revisions on the following page. Mine would have never turned out otherwise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zombified

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Kahlúa Pumpkin Cheesecake

See how to make a rich, marbled pumpkin cheesecake flavored with Kahlúa.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States