Amaretto Cheesecake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Really good! I used Nilla wafers instead of graham crackers and I doubled the crust. I also added 1t Almond extract and created a glaze from Amaretto, butter and powdered sugar. My husband thought it had too much almond flavor but my son and I loved it. It was especially good with cherry pie filling as a topping. Husband liked it a lot with the cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Nice base, but like other reviews needed tweaking. I used almond biscotti as my crust. More cream cheese. Using pure almond extract with the vanilla helps with the flavor too. Thanks! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Marlton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Really nice. I was concerned from the reviews that it was going to be too dense. But, that was not a problem at all. Mine was very light and airy. Based on the other reviews, I did double the amaretto and I'm glad I did. I'm not sure I would have tasted the amaretto otherwise; it wasn't even very strong doubled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lumberton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Loved the flavor of this cheesecake, but I also had cracking. Making another one today using the tip of baking it in water bath. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
This was amazing - creamy and delicious. I would recommend it even if you are not a huge fan of amaretto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauraelise
Home Town: Lagrange, Ohio, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
I tried yours and it was good but too many ingredients. Here is a simpler version. 8" springform pan(mandatory). preheat oven to 350. butter sides and bottom of springform pan, coat with graham cracker crumbs (yes no crust). (All ingredients need to be rm. temp) Beat together 2 8oz pkg cream cheese, 1pt. sour cream and 1c sugar..do not over beat... beat in 1 egg at a time and with the 3rd egg add 3Tablespoons of amarettto. Pour slowly into pan.. Lightly dust top with cracker crumbs... Bake at 350 degrees for 35min..turn oven off and let sit inside for 35min. refrigerate at least 4 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
My family loved this cheesecake, which I made for Easter dessert. This is only the second cheesecake I have ever made, and the instructions were easy to follow to make a successful dessert. The only adaptations that I will make the next time I make this is to double the crust (and perhaps use less sugar, as it was VERY sweet), and substitute some of the vanilla with almond extract to enhance the flavor of the amaretto. The vanilla flavor almost overpowered the flavor of the amaretto. Definitely a keeper of a recipe, and will be made again in this family! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carlsbad, California, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Followed recipe exactly including the bit about leaving in the oven for an hour after it was baked. Disaster is all I can say. It completely sunk and cracked open in the pan. My family made fun of it and me. Stupid thing to do for Easter. The only good thing I can say about this is the flavor was good. There must be a better way to bake this, or some secret to the baking part that I just don't know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusanDE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I made this with just a few changes. First I increased the graham cracker crumbs to 1 1/2 cup. Original recipe had the crust a little skimpy. Then I increased the cream cheese to 3 packs, decreased the vanilla extract to 1 teaspoon and added 1 teaspoon of almond extract. And finally I increased the amaretto lipueur to 1/3 cup. If you want to add a nice touch, take 1/4 cup sliced almonds and mix with 1 tablespoon of sugar and 2 tablespoons of melted butter. Toast for 7-8 minutes in an 350 oven and after cake is baked sprinkle this mix on the top of the cake. I made this yesterday to serve today and let me tell you everyone "inhaled" this cake. There is nothing left!!! They loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRS.LINDA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
I made this for booze night for our weekly dinner party and it was a hit! I added just a slight bit more almond extract to give it more full amaretto flavor. Next time I'll add a little more cookie crust, otherwise this is a hit! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyraquist

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Kahlúa Pumpkin Cheesecake

See how to make a rich, marbled pumpkin cheesecake flavored with Kahlúa.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States