Amaretto Butter Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
YUMMY!!! Little cookies of perfect yumminess! Can you tell I love these cookies? What a great find! I used a cheap brand of Amaretto (it was on sale), and I've been living with that for a while. Next time I make these it will be with Disaronno! I chose to add the chopped almonds to the batter, and I baked them for 12 minutes. It's best to use a sifter of some sort to get the powdered sugar on the outside so it doesn't cake on. These will definitely make my day again. My biggest disappointment? I only made half a batch today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2000
Great tasting cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
This recipe has been revised to list 1/2 cup confectioners' sugar in the ingredients list, which is creamed together with the butter in step 2 of the directions. An additional 1/2 cup confectioners' sugar is used for rolling. - The Staff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
Being a working mom of 3 boys and short on time, I made the dough (including the almonds) two days before I was going to bake the cookies. I double wrapped AND rubberbanded the bowl before refrigerating. Well, last night I took out the bowl and some little hands had taken off the rubberband and the plastic was barely on the bowl. I tried to make the dough into balls, but it was extremely dry and crumbly. Anyway, somehow I managed to get them into a ball and I threw them in the oven, not expecting much. Well, these babies BLOW AWAY all of the other cookies I have EVER made or tasted from others -- and I consider myself a cookie snob. In my book, this will be the cookie that all others are measured against. Michelle -- THANK YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
I increased this recipe to make 100 servings and baked it this past weekend. I added just a little more Amaretto and a touch more sugar to the recipe. I cannot say enough about how wonderful these cookies turned out. My husband who is not a major sweet freak tried one and fell in love, because, aside from the confectioners' sugar on the outside, these are not super sweet cookies. They are just right. I will definitely be making more of these cookies in the future. A big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
I thought this seemed to be a great recipe, but unfortunately, I was out of amaretto. Instead I used cointreu, and hazelnuts instead of almonds. The cookies tasted GREAT, I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
These were easy and turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Exactly what I was looking for. I used the small Papered Chef cookie scooper and baked for 8 minutes, which yielded 52. This will be a permanent addition to my Christmas Cookie list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dracut, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
These are my new favorite cookies! Absolutely AWESOME!!! I made these for Christmas and there were none left and everyone asked me for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
They are the quickest and most delicious cookies I make during the holidays. My co-worker said, "I don't know if I should hug you or hurt you…these are SO good!" Beware: they are incredibly addicting and so easy to make you won't be able to help yourself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States