Amaretto Butter Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I followed recipe as directed and it tasted like balls of cooked flour, and salty. Quite possible I did something wrong, but won't try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
They are the quickest and most delicious cookies I make during the holidays. My co-worker said, "I don't know if I should hug you or hurt you…these are SO good!" Beware: they are incredibly addicting and so easy to make you won't be able to help yourself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
I read the reviews about it being bland, so I tasted the batter. I'm glad I did. You can't taste the creamed butter/sugar. It tasted like flour. I added more Amaretto, lots. And more powder sugar. It turned out okay in the end, but a little pasty to eat. I guess less flour is the key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
I made these cookies about 3 weeks ago. I just took them out of the tins to serve. For those that aren't happy with this recipe please note: This is what you call a butter cookie..it has no eggs. The flavor mellows while stored, yes for 2 or 3 weeks. The trick to this is use a foil lined tin with a tin top, NOT plastic. Seperate layers with wax paper NOT plastic wrap, set aside on a shelf where your family won't start taste testing! (Not the refrigerator) You will be amazed with the results. This is a wonderful cookie to make at Christmas, because it is best made ahead when you aren't quite as busy. They were excellent & almost dissolve in your mouth as a very tastey buttery treat.. My coffee gang devoured them. I gave them only 4 stars, only because I think the recipe needed an explanation about serving true butter cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrgizrbune41

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
YUMMY!!! Little cookies of perfect yumminess! Can you tell I love these cookies? What a great find! I used a cheap brand of Amaretto (it was on sale), and I've been living with that for a while. Next time I make these it will be with Disaronno! I chose to add the chopped almonds to the batter, and I baked them for 12 minutes. It's best to use a sifter of some sort to get the powdered sugar on the outside so it doesn't cake on. These will definitely make my day again. My biggest disappointment? I only made half a batch today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
These are my new favorite cookies! Absolutely AWESOME!!! I made these for Christmas and there were none left and everyone asked me for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
I did not care for these cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Exactly what I was looking for. I used the small Papered Chef cookie scooper and baked for 8 minutes, which yielded 52. This will be a permanent addition to my Christmas Cookie list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dracut, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
These were easy and turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Cookies were very good...took about 15 min to bake. Also dough was very crumbly, but cookies came out delicous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States