Amaretti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
These never got at crispy on the outside as I like them, but they are the closest I've gotten to the ones I was obsessed with in Italy. The extra vanilla helps give them the perfect flavor. Make sure to keep them on the small side and bake them for at least 30 min. or more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
A really nice sweet with fruit or just a cup of espresso. A note to the cook that used stevia instead of sugar - sugar is considered a wet ingredient in most recipes, not a dry. It's not the lack of powder or volume that changed the texture, it's the lack of moisture that the sugar brings. Try adding an extra egg white or two to see if it lightens it up for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Millstone, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
It turned ok, a little too sweet, but the taste was good. It was a little too heavy/dense, as well. I wish it was a little lighter. 20 minutes is plenty baking time for these. Even with these cons my husband and I can't stop eating these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Never had these cookies before, but had always been interested in making them. Did enjoy blanching and peeling the almonds, although time-consuming. These little cookies did not melt down for me; maybe because I used stevia instead of regular sugar, which amounted to far less powder than sugar would've been. Nonetheless, they were very good and I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
My rating is not completely accurate since I didn't follow the recipe exactly. Instead of processing blanched almonds, I used Trader Joe's pure almond flour, 3 cups of it. B/c they weren't blanched, there were bits of brown skin, so it didn't turn out the smooth beige coloring in the picture. It was a little bit grainy/speckled, and the dough was really sticky for me, so I couldn't get rounded balls, they ended up looking more like coconut macroons. The flavor was really great, and I even cut down the sugar to 1 cup. I think if I use the almond flour again, I might mix a little bit of regular flour in, just to make the texture smoother. Also, I used a 1/2 tablespoon to make the cookies, which made 2 dozen, but I think it made them too big and "dense." Next time I will make them smaller, I think 1 teaspoon would be perfect. I'm still looking for a recipe similar to the AMAZING amaretti I had in Venice, Italy!! Flavor was there, but texture was not what I was looking for, but it was probably the adjustments I made. If you like the texture of coconut macroons, then this is it, but almond flavored!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by w

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
This were really good! They would be awesome served with tea or a dessert wine. I think next time I will add a bit more almond extract. I also added 1/2 tsp vanilla. Easy and addicting! Oh, make sure to roll the balls so they are smooth- they look a lot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
Yum! I couldn't find blanched almonds at my grocery so I substituted 2 cups of Bob's Mill Almond flour instead and mixed it all in my stand up mixer and they turned out great! Easy and very little clean-up! My gluten free kids loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
I also added 1/2t vanilla. It is best to chill dough prior to baking...cookies come out like picture. My Italian family adored these..so did my Cookie Exchange club!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
I made these cookies for my Italian conversation class and they LOVED them. Easy to make, crispy on the outside and chewy on the inside. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
This actually gets a 10! I love amaretti and this is so easy and makes wonderful cookies. I made them for Christmas and had to give most of them away. But it was so easy to make more. Try them, you'll like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RYSWISKGAL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States