Amaretti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by elball
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This recipe tasted the closest to the amaretti cookies my parents' used to get from the Italian bakery. The dense texture was great. I only gave it four stars because the oven times were really off for me. It took closer to an hour for a batch to start to brown. If you want chewy cookies that stay chewy, use rounded balls and do NOT flatten them as they are in some of the photos. I made a batch of rounded balls and one with flatter cookies and a day later the flatter ones are really hard -- great for dunking in coffee or tea, but not for eating solo. The rounded ones are still nice and chewy on the inside -- perfect! The substitution I made was to use a 16 oz. bag of Bob's Red Mill Almond Flour instead of grinding slivered almonds. I may use less almond flour next time as I like my amaretti a little sweeter than these came out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Sooooo good! I needed to keep them in the oven for a smidget longer (I took them out as soon as I saw a very thin ring of color forming), but as far as the actual taste...mmmm. I should not have been surprised that this would remind me of marzipan since it is basically a mix of almonds and sugar, but it did, and I'm glad. Ahhh marzipan. I have also seen recipes that sandwich jam or chocolate between two amaretti cookies and that looked delish. Might try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PaulinaM

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Evanston, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
They were great! they were quick and easy to whip out and tasted great, especially with a cappuccino.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Great taste, very light without an overload of almond. I did as suggested by the other reviews and added a bit of vanilla extract to the mix in the food processor. Also very easy, just a bit sticky when spooning onto baking pan. They did come out a bit pale, not sure how to brown them like the picture but doesn't matter because they taste delicious! Make sure you bake them 30 minutes or more though, they will not burn, promise. Will definitely make again! Makes about two dozen medium sized cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I made them for Christmas and got rave reviews!... they were compared to the italian pastry shops that make amaretti cookies! Haven't tried this yet but next time I would like to make some with Amaretto liquor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Worked great and now I can make them for all my recipes for a lot cheaper. One question though. Can these get darker somehow? The ones I buy at the Italian bakery are a dark carame color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Kevin, easy recipe. I was too lazy and in a hurry so I didn't shuck the shells from the almonds. My cookies have a brown tinge, but are still awesome. Next time I will take the time to skin the almonds! Mahalo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
This recipe was just so-so. I baked it for Passover, but it was way too sugary. We added cinnamon and that helped a little. Still, I probably would not make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom-of-3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Verrry Nice! Nice looks, nice taste, nice and easy! What more could you ask? It may go well with fruit, you should try them with dark Italian coffee, Gelato or a glass of Marsala. Now they REALLY go well! A number one keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bristol, Somerset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States