Amaretti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
a good way to use up egg whites. These taste good with tea or coffee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Love the flavor and texture of these. Very easy to make. I added half a candied cherry and they look so festive for the holidays. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
These are amazingly tasty. You will get many ohhs and ahhs serving these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama-mimosa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
I used 2 cups almond powder and used only half of the sugar measurement from original recipe. The batter doesn't form dough but thicj\k paste. So I put it in a medium zipper bag, cut the edge and piped it out into small size paper cups. I baked at 150 C for 25 mins and it turned out good. Will do it again when I have plenty almond powder at home because almonds expensive in my country :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
These are very good but too sweet. I would try 1 c. sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Easy and delicious. I rolled them in sugar cinnamon mixture before baking- couldn't keep them in the cookie jar!! My celiac relatives loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Absolutely delicious! As the sugar melts, it creates a crispy, caramelized crust on the bottom, which not only adds texture, but flavor. Crispy on the outside, but crunchy in the middle. These have become a staple of mine, which I have messed with bit too (added hazelnuts once, orange zest, fresh vanilla, etc.). You can't really go wrong! Another perk is how easy they are! Quick, and virtually no dishes :) Definitely recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This is a great little cookie. I too substituted almond meal and found about 3 cups worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
I believe these cookies were way too sugary. Cut it down to 3/4 cup and you will be fine. Also, try adding cinnimon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by elball
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This recipe tasted the closest to the amaretti cookies my parents' used to get from the Italian bakery. The dense texture was great. I only gave it four stars because the oven times were really off for me. It took closer to an hour for a batch to start to brown. If you want chewy cookies that stay chewy, use rounded balls and do NOT flatten them as they are in some of the photos. I made a batch of rounded balls and one with flatter cookies and a day later the flatter ones are really hard -- great for dunking in coffee or tea, but not for eating solo. The rounded ones are still nice and chewy on the inside -- perfect! The substitution I made was to use a 16 oz. bag of Bob's Red Mill Almond Flour instead of grinding slivered almonds. I may use less almond flour next time as I like my amaretti a little sweeter than these came out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States