Amaretti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Verrry Nice! Nice looks, nice taste, nice and easy! What more could you ask? It may go well with fruit, you should try them with dark Italian coffee, Gelato or a glass of Marsala. Now they REALLY go well! A number one keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bristol, Somerset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
This is my favorite cookie. I was excited to find this recipe because the amaretti importied from Italy are so expensive. I used 2-1/2 cups of almond meal/flour made by Bob's Red Mill. I scooped the dough with a small melon baller and then dipped the top in turbinado sugar. Yum! Thanks for the great recipe, Kevin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Perfect, perfect, perfect! Absolutely the best Amaretti we have tasted! Kudos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
i used 2 c Hodgson's Mill Almond Meal / Flour for the slivers and the cookies worked fine. The dough was a bit much for my hand mixer. Form balls because it does flatten some as it bakes even if chilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
Cookies were thin and lacey and very difficult to get off the pan. Tasted great though. Definately did not look like the picture. Perhaps try with thicker egg whites and put on parchment paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
The Best Cookie I Have Ever Ate!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
i baked these in our Aga and made a few ajustments - partly because of baking in a two oven aga in the roasting oven and partly to fit what i had in! i used only 2 egg whites and 300g almonds as thats all i had, reducing the gar slightly and doubling the almond extract. unfortunatly they cooked a little too fast due to the difference in aga heat and the fact that my cold plain shelf only lasts 40mins. however we all thought they tasted wonderful and i would definatly bake them again. I work in an Italian restaurant and they taste just like the ones they bake there
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chester, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I love the amaretti cookie. It is truly worth the reaction that you get from people. The only adjustments that I made to the recipe, was that I didn't do the almond blanching. I just bought ground almond already done. You need about 5 cups. It saves ALOT of time. Also added the 1/2 tsp. of vanilla as well as I placed one whole almond on top before going into the oven.... Happy baking eveyone!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
These never got at crispy on the outside as I like them, but they are the closest I've gotten to the ones I was obsessed with in Italy. The extra vanilla helps give them the perfect flavor. Make sure to keep them on the small side and bake them for at least 30 min. or more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
A really nice sweet with fruit or just a cup of espresso. A note to the cook that used stevia instead of sugar - sugar is considered a wet ingredient in most recipes, not a dry. It's not the lack of powder or volume that changed the texture, it's the lack of moisture that the sugar brings. Try adding an extra egg white or two to see if it lightens it up for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Millstone, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States