Amanda's Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Great recipe - It was an Italian twist on traditional stuffed peppers and a nice change from my usual "rice and beef" version. I used 1 & 1/2 lbs. of lean ground beef and italian style bread crumbs. I left out the mushrooms (personal preference for my husband). After cutting and cleaning the peppers I always boil them for about three minutes to get them a little soft so you don't end up with hard shells at the end of the cooking process. Instead of jarred spaghetti sauce, I used an old favorite "Best Marinara Sauce Yet" from this site and added it to the peppers before they went into the oven. I don't bother with cooking them with the tops. These came out so good. I served them with "Garlic Mashed Potatoes" from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Hubs and I SO enjoyed this! Like eating a big, delicious meatball in a sweet pepper! We're watching carbs where we can so I cut back on the bread crumbs a little. I found I was glad I did, carb watching or not. The full half cup of crumbs would have been a little too much filler for me. I cut back on the Parmesan cheese as well - a little goes a long way. I also found that, just as with meatballs, I had to moisten the mixture up a bit with a little milk. Rather than the Italian seasoning I used fresh Italian flat-leaf parsley, fresh oregano and some dried basil, but I have no doubt the Italian seasoning would have been equally as good. I chose to use red, orange and yellow peppers both for their vibrant color as well as their more mellow, sweeter flavor. Everything worked well here, all ingredients perfectly suited to each other. Loved the addition of the mushrooms as well as the mozzarella. I halved the peppers lengthwise and, as I always do with stuffed peppers, blanched them for about three minutes before filling and baking them. Finally, rather than the jarred spaghetti sauce I used my tomato sauce I put up from my garden. If you use the jarred stuff, I'd recommend a simple marinara rather than something heavily seasoned. Normally I'd serve this with mashed potatoes or, considering the Italian slant in this recipe, pasta, but in keeping with our carb watching, I served it with some leftover "Whipped Butternut Squash," recipe also from this site. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Definitely a great rendition of the original as I am not a fan of rice. I did make a couple of changes and cooked the ground beef, onions & garlic first to avoid the chance of it not being done (& helped reduce the fat). I then added 1/4 c. italian seasoned bread crumbs & omitted the egg & italian seasoning. I also added the sauce to ground beef when I mixed it w/ the remaining ingredients. Cut the cooking time to 45 mins and it turned out awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darcy Hafler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boyertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
These were great, I stuffed both red and green bell peppers since that was what we had. I dont know if I had small peppers, but I ended up needing 7 peppers so I could use up all the filling. Next time I think I would use a leaner hamburger, we had 80/20 on hand the the peppers oozed grease when cut into. They tatsted excellent after being reheated for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
Really delicious dish. Used turkey instead of beef. A little difficult to determine when meat was thorougly cooked. Not recommended as leftovers. But right out of the oven, it was very, very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Definitely will make this again. I did add spaghetti sauce to the mixture before I stuffed the peppers. Nice change from the beef and rice mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
My husband thought this would have been really good if the peppers weren't cooked. Also had a hard time getting the meat mixture done. I think next time I make this, I will cook the meat mixture, then stuff in peppers and serve cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I converted this recipe to be gluten-free and dairy-free. My entire family loved this dish-even the toddlers! I did add a few steps to the cooking process like blanching the peppers, browning the onions and ground beef, and adding some spaghetti sauce to the mixture before stuffing the peppers. But I also cut down oven time to 35 minutes, which made up for the extra prep time. The peppers were perfect this way. My first time making stuffed peppers, and I love how easy this was. I will be making this often. Thank you Amanda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Christina
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I changed this up a bit, but it was great, and even my picky 5 year old ate it! Use Italian sausage in place of ground beef, and more mushrooms, it's worth it. I sauteed the mushrooms, onion and garlic in EVO before adding the meat and browning (I too fear undercooking). Add the spaghetti sauce, bread crumbs and cheese, heat and filled the peppers. It was great, and I wish I had made more, I would love another!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
my husband had been asking for these for awhile now, I don't care for green peppers so was worried about the taste. These were wonderful. After reading the reviews I did make a few adjustments, boiled the peppers first, cooked the meat first, and I added stewed tomatoes with green chilis for a little bit of spicy. These were a HUGE hit, will definately make againa and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States