Amanda's Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Wow, very good. I did pre-cook the peppers for a few minutes in boiling water. Also, based on other reviews, I decreased the bread crumbs (used italian bread crumbs) to 1/3 c. Even though I did decrease the bread crumbs, the mixture was still a little dry, so I added a splash of milk. I also decreased the cheese (used 1/2 c. each) to lighten this up. I didn't bother cooking them with the tops on. I'd definitely make this again with the aforementioned tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Great easy recipe. I use all the differnt colors of peppers too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SBOEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pewaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Delicious recipe! Great as is, but the 4 stars is just bc i like a little heat, so i made just a few variations- 1/2 lb italian sausage + 1/4 lb ground turkey instead of the beef, added 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes and 1/4 c diced jalepenos, sprinkle a little cheese on top and yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmilyfromNormal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I converted this recipe to be gluten-free and dairy-free. My entire family loved this dish-even the toddlers! I did add a few steps to the cooking process like blanching the peppers, browning the onions and ground beef, and adding some spaghetti sauce to the mixture before stuffing the peppers. But I also cut down oven time to 35 minutes, which made up for the extra prep time. The peppers were perfect this way. My first time making stuffed peppers, and I love how easy this was. I will be making this often. Thank you Amanda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Christina
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Great recipe - It was an Italian twist on traditional stuffed peppers and a nice change from my usual "rice and beef" version. I used 1 & 1/2 lbs. of lean ground beef and italian style bread crumbs. I left out the mushrooms (personal preference for my husband). After cutting and cleaning the peppers I always boil them for about three minutes to get them a little soft so you don't end up with hard shells at the end of the cooking process. Instead of jarred spaghetti sauce, I used an old favorite "Best Marinara Sauce Yet" from this site and added it to the peppers before they went into the oven. I don't bother with cooking them with the tops. These came out so good. I served them with "Garlic Mashed Potatoes" from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Hubs and I SO enjoyed this! Like eating a big, delicious meatball in a sweet pepper! We're watching carbs where we can so I cut back on the bread crumbs a little. I found I was glad I did, carb watching or not. The full half cup of crumbs would have been a little too much filler for me. I cut back on the Parmesan cheese as well - a little goes a long way. I also found that, just as with meatballs, I had to moisten the mixture up a bit with a little milk. Rather than the Italian seasoning I used fresh Italian flat-leaf parsley, fresh oregano and some dried basil, but I have no doubt the Italian seasoning would have been equally as good. I chose to use red, orange and yellow peppers both for their vibrant color as well as their more mellow, sweeter flavor. Everything worked well here, all ingredients perfectly suited to each other. Loved the addition of the mushrooms as well as the mozzarella. I halved the peppers lengthwise and, as I always do with stuffed peppers, blanched them for about three minutes before filling and baking them. Finally, rather than the jarred spaghetti sauce I used my tomato sauce I put up from my garden. If you use the jarred stuff, I'd recommend a simple marinara rather than something heavily seasoned. Normally I'd serve this with mashed potatoes or, considering the Italian slant in this recipe, pasta, but in keeping with our carb watching, I served it with some leftover "Whipped Butternut Squash," recipe also from this site. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I changed this up a bit, but it was great, and even my picky 5 year old ate it! Use Italian sausage in place of ground beef, and more mushrooms, it's worth it. I sauteed the mushrooms, onion and garlic in EVO before adding the meat and browning (I too fear undercooking). Add the spaghetti sauce, bread crumbs and cheese, heat and filled the peppers. It was great, and I wish I had made more, I would love another!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Tasty weekday meal! My husband really liked these peppers. I used turkey and browned it first. And I used Italian style bread crumbs, omitting the italian seasoning. Mixed the sauce in with the other ingredients, too. This was enough for 6 large peppers! YUM! A nice change from the same old same old! Thanks Amanda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
Simple and tasty! I've always cooked my meat prior to stuffing peppers, so this was different for me. I was worried that these would be really greasy because of that, but they weren't at at all. The only changes I made were to omit the onions and I used a blend of shredded Italian cheeses instead of the Parmesan and mozzarella. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
my husband had been asking for these for awhile now, I don't care for green peppers so was worried about the taste. These were wonderful. After reading the reviews I did make a few adjustments, boiled the peppers first, cooked the meat first, and I added stewed tomatoes with green chilis for a little bit of spicy. These were a HUGE hit, will definately make againa and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States