Amanda's Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2005
Awesome! Was a big hit with the hubby and the neighbors! Went well with salmon marinated in soy sauce and brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
We loved this dish! I cut the ingredients in half as I was only making it for DH and I and I increased the cream, but only marginally. We will definitely make this again, and the only think I will change is the amount of brown sugar used. While it does give the onions a lovely golden colour, we found it to be a bit sweet. Next time I will only use 1 or 2 tbsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
This recipe is awesome! I reduced the brown sugar to 2 Tbsp and used peeled russet potatoes. I also deglazed the onions with a Tbsp of Madiera. Took it to a dinner group and they all but licked the casserole dish!! It is definitely a keeper. Such a great change from the cheesey potatoes casserole that we always return to. Thanks so much for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEANNIED59

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Gahanna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
I made this for Easter and everyone loved it (they were all asking for the recipe)! It was so easy to make. I will be making this dish again! The only change I made was to half the amount of brown sugar that was called for. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
I must admit I did change this recipe slightly. I did not add brown sugar, because carmelized onions are very sweet on their own, I didn't want it to be a dessert. I also peeled my potatoes, I just don't like the skin. I also did not add the rosemary, partly because I didn't have any and partly because I don't care for that either. But this is the only way I will make "escalloped" potatoes from now on. No dried up potatoes for me anymore. So creamy and flavorfull. My husband raved about these. A must for company or a pot luck if you want to show off! A+A+A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICKI61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wolcott, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
My family LOVED these! They've officially replaced the traditional Au Gratin potatoes served at our holiday meals. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
Great recipe! Good as a side dish for almost anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
This recipe is AWESOME! The first time I made this, my boyfriend loved it and said "I see this at Thanksgiving dinner...a nice change from traditional mashed potatoes"! We both loved the sweetness of the onions by using the amount of brown sugar suggested. We wanted even more onion in it! The only thing I would say is to use regular salt and pepper when layering the potatoes. The seasoned salt is not as strong. I actually made these once with hot and sweet sausage for an Easter brunch. I won the title for "Best Entree".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen Fuore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Windsor Locks, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
Simple and tasty This was quick and very easy to prepare. I have made it a couple of times with rave reviews (I did not use sugar to carmalize onions). I added some cubed ham, cut back on the rosemary and made a one dish dinner. I made it today to go along with a rib roast for Christmas dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
this potatoes are always a hit whenever i make it. it's one of my favorite side dishes; goes great with swedish meatballs! however i only put very little brown sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mascarpone Mashed Potatoes

See how to make amazing make-ahead mashers with mascarpone cheese.

Garlic Red Potatoes

This simple, savory side dish is perfect beside steaks and roasts.

Fondant Potatoes

Impressive, perfect potatoes with tender, creamy insides and crispy edges.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States