Amanda's Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Did not use the rosemary. It smelled way too overpowering.I added leftover ham. It was delicious. Fiancee said it was the best meal I've made yet. Also I omitted the sugar. Onions caramelize nicely on their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
I made these today, and I made a half recipe (3 servings rather than 6). I did make a couple of changes, some by necessity. The biggest change I made was that I carmelized the onions with bacon (2 strips, cut into 1 inch pieces) and some butter. I did not add the brown sugar. After carmelizing the onion, I followed the instructions completely about the layers and order of them. I put them in the oven at 350 and set the timer for 1 hour. I checked on them occasionally. After 45 minutes, the sauce was bubbling like crazy and starting to dry out, so I figured they were done. Unfortunately, the potatoes were still hard. I added more cream (eventually adding a full cup -- the amount for 6 servings) and cooked them longer, but some of the potatoes were still hard after that. I think I probably didn't cut the potatoes thinly enough, so I will try it again. Also, I might try it on a lower temperature, since I know my oven tends to be hot (I usually need to take off at least 1 minute for any frozen food I bake). Overall, these were very good despite the problems with getting the potatoes to cook fully and keeping the cream from drying up, which might be an oven problem rather than a recipe problem. The only real dislike I had was that the onions were still too sweet. I'm really glad I didn't put in the brown sugar, but I thought the bacon would help make it less sweet, too. I haven't figured out how I will deal with the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plover, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
My instinct told me to halve the amount of onions, and I'm glad I did. There was plenty of onion flavor, and I fear the full amount would have been too much. The rosemary combined with the caramelized onion makes for a very tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
We have updated the brown sugar amount to 2 tablespoons, per the recipe submitter's request. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Made this exactly as it called for in the recipe. Very good but a tad too sweet for my taste. Next time, and there will be a next time, I will use less brown sugar, more onions and be absolutely delighted with the result. Such a change from regular cheese potatoes. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Very Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I'd give this 5 stars, but as written there's WAY too many onions. We used 2 rather large onions and it was more than enough. Other than that it was SUPER delicious. But my non onion eaters wouldn't touch it :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Excellent, my family loved this recipe. I used fresh dill and tarragon instead of rosemary just because it's what I had! Making it for Thanksgiving!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Amazing!!!! I sliced my potatoes really thin. I agree - you don't need the sugar for the onions, just carmalize them up nicely. I put a little garlic salt in between the layers along with the rosemary. I put some grated parmesan on top for a little crunch. Can't wait to make again - I think I'll try with half and half to cut the fat a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Oh my gosh! These are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mascarpone Mashed Potatoes

See how to make amazing make-ahead mashers with mascarpone cheese.

Garlic Red Potatoes

This simple, savory side dish is perfect beside steaks and roasts.

Fondant Potatoes

Impressive, perfect potatoes with tender, creamy insides and crispy edges.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States