Amanda's Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
I must admit I did change this recipe slightly. I did not add brown sugar, because carmelized onions are very sweet on their own, I didn't want it to be a dessert. I also peeled my potatoes, I just don't like the skin. I also did not add the rosemary, partly because I didn't have any and partly because I don't care for that either. But this is the only way I will make "escalloped" potatoes from now on. No dried up potatoes for me anymore. So creamy and flavorfull. My husband raved about these. A must for company or a pot luck if you want to show off! A+A+A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICKI61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wolcott, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
We loved this dish! I cut the ingredients in half as I was only making it for DH and I and I increased the cream, but only marginally. We will definitely make this again, and the only think I will change is the amount of brown sugar used. While it does give the onions a lovely golden colour, we found it to be a bit sweet. Next time I will only use 1 or 2 tbsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
This recipe is awesome! I reduced the brown sugar to 2 Tbsp and used peeled russet potatoes. I also deglazed the onions with a Tbsp of Madiera. Took it to a dinner group and they all but licked the casserole dish!! It is definitely a keeper. Such a great change from the cheesey potatoes casserole that we always return to. Thanks so much for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEANNIED59

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Gahanna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
This is a good, but high calorie, sidedish recipe. I would make it again, but not very often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
This recipe is AWESOME! The first time I made this, my boyfriend loved it and said "I see this at Thanksgiving dinner...a nice change from traditional mashed potatoes"! We both loved the sweetness of the onions by using the amount of brown sugar suggested. We wanted even more onion in it! The only thing I would say is to use regular salt and pepper when layering the potatoes. The seasoned salt is not as strong. I actually made these once with hot and sweet sausage for an Easter brunch. I won the title for "Best Entree".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen Fuore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Windsor Locks, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
We really liked this twist on potatoes. I used red and it made it way to sweet. I would definitly use the potato suggested and a little less sugar in the onion mixture. Liked the flavor alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Sauk Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
Very time-consuming but definitely worth it! I made these as part of my Dad's birthday dinner and he loved them! Fresh rosemary is waaaay better than the dried stuff - you won't get the same flavour without it. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
Followed directions exactly. Made with Lemon Chicken Tenders from this site and they complimented each other nicely. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: May 24, 2005
Awesome! Was a big hit with the hubby and the neighbors! Went well with salmon marinated in soy sauce and brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
While the amount of time spent on carmalizing the onions was cut down drastically, the recipe turned out well with a touch of sweetness added the the taste of the potatoes. Unfortunately it wasn't a big hit with the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mascarpone Mashed Potatoes

See how to make amazing make-ahead mashers with mascarpone cheese.

Garlic Red Potatoes

This simple, savory side dish is perfect beside steaks and roasts.

Fondant Potatoes

Impressive, perfect potatoes with tender, creamy insides and crispy edges.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States