Amanda's Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
These were okay, but I didn't really think they tasted that great for the amount of work involved. To help with the fat content I cut the butter to 2 T and added a tiny bit of olive oil. I also used fat free half and half rather than heavy cream. Maybe if I had added the extra fat in it would have helped. It wasn't that they tasted bad, they were just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
I made this for Easter and everyone loved it (they were all asking for the recipe)! It was so easy to make. I will be making this dish again! The only change I made was to half the amount of brown sugar that was called for. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
This recipe is awesome! I reduced the brown sugar to 2 Tbsp and used peeled russet potatoes. I also deglazed the onions with a Tbsp of Madiera. Took it to a dinner group and they all but licked the casserole dish!! It is definitely a keeper. Such a great change from the cheesey potatoes casserole that we always return to. Thanks so much for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEANNIED59

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Gahanna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
Followed directions exactly. Made with Lemon Chicken Tenders from this site and they complimented each other nicely. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
This recipe is AWESOME! The first time I made this, my boyfriend loved it and said "I see this at Thanksgiving dinner...a nice change from traditional mashed potatoes"! We both loved the sweetness of the onions by using the amount of brown sugar suggested. We wanted even more onion in it! The only thing I would say is to use regular salt and pepper when layering the potatoes. The seasoned salt is not as strong. I actually made these once with hot and sweet sausage for an Easter brunch. I won the title for "Best Entree".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen Fuore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Windsor Locks, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
This is a good, but high calorie, sidedish recipe. I would make it again, but not very often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
We really liked this twist on potatoes. I used red and it made it way to sweet. I would definitly use the potato suggested and a little less sugar in the onion mixture. Liked the flavor alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Sauk Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
We loved this dish! I cut the ingredients in half as I was only making it for DH and I and I increased the cream, but only marginally. We will definitely make this again, and the only think I will change is the amount of brown sugar used. While it does give the onions a lovely golden colour, we found it to be a bit sweet. Next time I will only use 1 or 2 tbsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2005
Awesome! Was a big hit with the hubby and the neighbors! Went well with salmon marinated in soy sauce and brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mascarpone Mashed Potatoes

See how to make amazing make-ahead mashers with mascarpone cheese.

Garlic Red Potatoes

This simple, savory side dish is perfect beside steaks and roasts.

Fondant Potatoes

Impressive, perfect potatoes with tender, creamy insides and crispy edges.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States