Alyson's Broccoli Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Excellent flavor - kids gobbled it up. The sauce got runny though - I let it sit in fridge for about 4 hours. No bacon, just toasted sunflower seeds and almonds. The toasted almonds have a bacony flavor without the saturated fat and cholesterol. Not sure how much 1 head of broccoli is supposed to be in this recipe, but I used 1 bunch, as sold rubberbanded together at the market - it looked like 3 heads to me, probably about a pound of broccoli. Perfect amount. And red grapes are definitely the way to go, especially if you let the salad sit - raisins get swollen and disgusting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Alyson's salad is perfect just as she wrote it. I love this salad !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
This recipe is ridiculously delicious! This coming from someone who as a general rule does not put sweet fruits of any kind in her salad. My tips: Make the night before. Add cubed cheddar the day of. Add bacon(cheat and use the bagged bacon bits from Costco) before serving. Omit sunflower seeds. Double the recipe if you're a large group because it disappears fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
I absolutely love this Broccoli Salad. I could eat it every single day. I've made it to take as a side dish to dinners and it gets rave reviews. The flavors all mesh together to make the broccoli MAGICAL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
This is a great recipe, weather for parties, or just for dinner at home. I do have some HELPFUL HINTS for some. 1.) Don't have bacon/don't want to waste your time cooking & waiting for the bacon to be ready? You can use bacon bits. Although smaller, they are handy so you CAN say you've put bacon in. 2.) If you don't have raisins, both raisins and grapes (grapes would need to be cut in half the shorter way) can work as well. 3.) Apple cider vinegar can replace the white wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
This is a great salad recipe. I especially love that the dressing doesn't have a lot of added sugar, like most of these types of summer salads do. I took a shortcut and used real bacon bits and subbed a few of the raisins for dried cranberries, for a sweet/tart element. Also added in some shredded cheese. Not totally necessary adjustments, but all made it a bit more interesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Yum! I did add the raisins as I didn't have any grapes on hand. It was a huge hit. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Davena

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
I have been making this recipe for years and it is one of my favorite dishes for bbq's, picnics,etc. We use the smaller jar or squeeze bottle of mayo. I can't recall, it's either slightly more or slightly less ounces than the recipe calls for, but it works great. Instead of raisins we use red grapes or sometimes dried cranberries. We also use 2 heads of broccoli instead of 1.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
I make this salad with Golden Raisins,Xylitol,1/2 cup mayonnaise and 1/2 cup Sour cream,1/4 teaspoon granulated garlic,salt and fresh ground mixed pepper to taste.My husband loves it and has learned how to make it himself!I usually take it camping for our Community Fish dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Husband loves this. I'm a vegetarian, so I used soy bacon and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mokie1982

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Cardiff By The Sea, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,068) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Alyson's Broccoli Salad

This tasty salad is perfect for potlucks and buffets.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States