Alyson's Broccoli Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Loved it as did everyone who has tasted it here. The only change that I made was using half vanilla yogurt and half mayo. I couldn't make up my mind between craisins and grapes, so used both!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
This is a great salad! One change I make is to use a flavored vinegar. I have an apple lime vinegar that is fabulous mixed with the mayo and sugar and gives it a nice sweet/tangy taste. I also like to use red or black grapes cut in half instead of the raisins. I also blanch the broccoli; Literally dump in boiling water, stir 10 sec, drain, rinse in cold water and pat dry. This gives the broccoli and very bright green color and just a slightly more tender bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
This was very good. I didnt have white wine vinegar so I used half white vinegar and half dry white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
I took this to a potluck this weekend and it was a HIT! I used craisins instead of the raisins. Otherwise, followed the recipe. Perfect sweet/tangy combo in the dressing. I hadn't made this for years and it was fun to bring to our party. Glad I found this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Loved this recipe! Finally found one we like. I am an avid reader of reviews because they give me the confidence to make slight changes. And I love this site and the participants! We are having a buffet for a crowd so am trying different salad recipes. I omitted the raisins and onion and as a reader suggested, we used white vinegar since we did not have "white wine" It was still great. My husband who is not a salad person said "this one is a keepr". That says alot everybody!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Great recipe! Just made some minor adjustments, but I'm sure it would have been great the way it is written as well. We used less bacon (5 Slices) - and it still had that smokey salty flavor. Also used olive oil mayo to health it up a little! I had a mix of roasted sunflower and pumpkin seeds at home already - so just used that mix in recipe - seemed to work well in recipe. Recipe was devoured by family of 3 in two days - and even 10 year old asked for seconds. We consider that a success! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Moore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spencer, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
This is the second broccoli salad I've tried from this site and both are equally good. I would say the dressing for this one is more on the simple side. With this recipe, I had used red grapes instead of raisins and added a sprinkle of shredded cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
We really loved this with red grapes in place of the raisins. Cut the broccoli in small pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
GREAT! I fixed this the other night for my boyfriends family and they loved it. I did take the advice of Discobunny and used red seedless grapes. I also used lite mayonnaise and saltless sunflower seeds, for people with special diets. I also used the advice of putting some bacon in it the night before. (I used thick sliced bacon). Will make again. Thanks for a GREAT new dish 0(*@*)0
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
This is very good, the only thing I changed was, I left out the raisins, and added chopped boiled eggs and shredded cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyndy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, Alabama, USA
Living In: West Blocton, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,044) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alyson's Broccoli Salad

This tasty salad is perfect for potlucks and buffets.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States