Alyson's Broccoli Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
The best receipe ever.THE key is putting the bacon and sunflower seeds in just before you serve it.Yum yum.I put in dried cranberries instead of the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillie Dressel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
This is a great recipe for a barbecue or party. I prefer my salads lightly dressed so I use 2lbs raw broccoli florets, 3 small carrots, half of a red onion, a pound of bacon, a full cup of golden raisins and about an extra third of a cup of mayo (but no extra sugar or vinegar). Since I significantly increase the veggies, it makes a lot of servings and the calorie totals are lower even with more raisins, mayo and bacon. I usually use light mayo and sometimes use Splenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I used half the amount of sunflower seeds called for in this. I also used white vinegar instead of white wine vinegar (didn't have it) and it turned out just fine! This isn't exactly a 'healthy' option with all the bacon, but it was VERY good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This salad was definitely good, very flavorful and makes raw broccoli taste great. But, given the reviews I expected a little more. I made very minor changes, mostly with quantities and not ingredients, which is why I think my review is still warranted. I used a 2lb bag of broccoli florets (trimmed the stems even more). I doubled the dressing since I had a lot of broccoli (2 cups mayo, 3 tbsp white wine vinegar, 2 tbsp apple cider vinegar, 3 tbsp sugar, 1 tbsp Splenda-equal to 10 packets), then a 4 oz bag of precooked turkey bacon, roasted slivered almonds (about 20 min in 300 degree oven), and NO raisins but I added salt. I also didn't add the bacon and almonds until it was time to eat. Again, very good recipe, but for someone who loves sugar I found it too sweet. There was enough sweetness in the dressing so I'll probably use one less tbsp of sugar next time (so 3 tbsp instead of 4 for the quantity I made.) It's not needed to let the broccoli sit in the dressing for the flavors to meld, but it helps soften the broccoli. The salt I added balanced the sweetness a little, and it just needed salt. Regardless of my critique, I still recommend this recipe and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by codeseven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Yum! Used craisins and omitted onions due to personal taste. Most popular dish at work pot luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Pretty delicious. It was gobbled up in no time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIEUNC1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Loved this! Used the grapes as suggested. My husband called me specifically to tell me how much he liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This recipe is fantastic!! I used stevia instead of sugar and it tasted great! I also don't like raisins, especially when they get moist. So, I used craisins instead and it was really tasty. I doubled the recipe and thre was none left - signs of a great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I changed the dressing, I needed something as close to 0 calories as possible. So I used 6 oz ready made Waldens Honey dijon dressing and added apple cider vinegar and stevia to taste! Amazing!! No one could tell the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
My family enjoyed this version of eggplant parmesan it's fairly easy to make. Make sure to sweat the eggplant with some salt to take out excess moisture before frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Hope, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,070) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Alyson's Broccoli Salad

This tasty salad is perfect for potlucks and buffets.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States