Alysia's Basic Meat Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Fabulous recipe for a "Basic Meat Lasagna" and a great recipe for times when you want lasagna but don't have the time to make it from scratch! This is very easy to throw together and perfect for a hearty weeknight meal. So if your're in the mood for Italian but think you don't have the time - think again. I used 1 lb. of ground beef and 1 lb. of mild Italian sausage. I also doubled the sauce using Classico Marinara and added a little red wine and some fresh basil to give a bit of a flavor boost. I just layered everything as I usually do using no boil lasagna noodles which really makes things easy and topped it with a mix of shredded Parmesan and mozzarella cheeses. Great with garlic bread! (leftovers freeze well)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This recipe came out beautifully. It is an excellent basic recipe with plenty of room for adding your favorite veggies !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This recipe is amazing. I followed the recipe exactly as it is. It really is a basic lasagna but still tastes great. I have made this twice and I received many compliments each time. Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I gave it four stars because I wan't sure if the noodle was supposed to be cooked or not. I followed others' advice and pre-soaked them. They tasted a little gummy-starchy. I used two jars of Italian sausage sauce...added oregano, basil, garlic powerder...yum! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Masa Bamm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I love this recipe. It's easy to follow without all the 'a 1/2tsp of this here!'. I do end up using more spaghetti sauce and I use 1/2 beef 2/3 mild italian sausage. Turns out perfect every time! Since I only cook for 3 there's always plenty to take along the next day for lunch and it's just as good being microwaved the next day as it is fresh. Genius!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Added sliced mild italian sausage and a little spinach. It came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Excellent lasagna without a lot of fanfare and so easy to make! I have tried many, many recipes over the years and this one is not only a great starter recipe, but a keeper! I also used two jars of spaghetti sauce as some reviewers recommended. And, since I had some Italian sausage in the freezer, I added that to the ground beef. Finally, I used cottage cheese (small curd) instead of ricotta to gut down on the fat/calories. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mountain View, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Rocklin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
My boyfriend loves this recipe. I usually substitute half the hamburger for sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
It made a ton- easy to make. Very filling! Minus 1 star=Too bland for us. That's probably not the recipe problem, but my choice in sauces. I agree with other reviewers double the sauce otherwise it would've been too dry. I also added a 1/2 pound of Italian sausage. I did not cook noodles first and their texture was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I made this 10/3/11. Used Newman's Sausage and Pepper pasta sauce. Didn't seem like there was enough sauce, even though I spread "thinly". Same with cheese, didn't work out to be enough for a 3rd layer. Ended up making it a two-layer, but it did taste very good and was said by one to be one of the best lasagnas they had eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coyote bob

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 371) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Lasagna II

This top-rated recipe is lasagna made simple.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Chef John’s Lasagna

Discover the two keys to a great lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States