Alysia's Basic Meat Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by lilpug
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Very good, easy and basic recipe. I've made it twice, once using provolone slices and once using creamy havarti slices, plus shredded mozz in either case. I do not have canned sauce so I use 2 x 24 oz jars of Classico pasta sauce plus a about a half cup to a cup of water. Use half the water and 1 c sauce mixed to make very bottom layer & very top layer of sauce. Did a combo of ground beef and Italian sausage crumbles plus a small package of frozen spinach, thawed and drained, added into the meat & sauce mix. For me making in a 9x13x2 pan, this uses 12 lasagna noodles (4 side by side plus 1 split lengthwise and laid down the side of the others). Using the "no-cook" or "no-boil" noodles I don't pre-cook them, I just make sure every piece of noodle has sauce on it so there are no hard edges after cooking. My sauce is quite thick with all the additions so I can fit, from bottom to top, 1 thin layer of (watered) sauce, noodles, meat/sauce mix, ricotta mix, light sprinkle of shredded mozz, 1 full layer of provolone or havarti (6 sandwich size slizes), 2nd layer of noodles, 2nd layer of meat/sauce, 2nd layer of ricotta mix, 3rd layer of noodles, thin layer of sauce, even sprinkle of shredded mozz, even sprinkle of grated parmesan. My 9x13x2 pan is filled to the brim this way. I spray some tin foil with nonstick spray before covering the pan to avoid the cheese melting and sticking onto the foil. Baked at 350 due to dark nonstick pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
This is a pretty basic lasagna and really good. It also freezes very well. My husbands loves it. I have a hard time finding sausage flavored sauce, so I get beef flavored and I usually end up using a little more than a 28oz jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Good recipe! This was my first time ever making a Lasagna. I've always heard that lasagnas are a lot of work and a lot of ingredients. I agree!!! However the finished product was FAB-U-LOUS! The only alteration I did was use half ground beef and half ground pork. I really wanted to use ground italian sausage but my store was sold out and i didn't feel like driving all over Chicago. Great, great recipe, full of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cereneb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
My family loves this recipe. For the meat ingredient, I used 1 pound of dark ground turkey mixed with 2 sweet Italian sausage links. (about 3/4#) I cooked my noodles for about 5-6 minutes and I used only one jar of spaghetti sauce. I know others used more sauce but maybe because I cooked my noodles, it didn't require more sauce. Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hatch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Seems like a good recipe but missing A LOT of important data like not using all of the ingredients because you will need them in several places (garlic, oragano, CHEESE). The cheese was a big problem. it just says mix the chesse so naturally I mixed all the cheese which left me no cheese to cover. Honestly Im a little mad because it this is my first time cooking and its a disaster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Yummy. I also tweaked the recipe a bit too. I wanted more sauce but didn't have any more on hand so I used a can of original Manwich!!!! I also doubled the mozzarella. Wow this is gooooooooood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Fabulous recipe for a "Basic Meat Lasagna" and a great recipe for times when you want lasagna but don't have the time to make it from scratch! This is very easy to throw together and perfect for a hearty weeknight meal. So if your're in the mood for Italian but think you don't have the time - think again. I used 1 lb. of ground beef and 1 lb. of mild Italian sausage. I also doubled the sauce using Classico Marinara and added a little red wine and some fresh basil to give a bit of a flavor boost. I just layered everything as I usually do using no boil lasagna noodles which really makes things easy and topped it with a mix of shredded Parmesan and mozzarella cheeses. Great with garlic bread! (leftovers freeze well)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This recipe came out beautifully. It is an excellent basic recipe with plenty of room for adding your favorite veggies !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This recipe is amazing. I followed the recipe exactly as it is. It really is a basic lasagna but still tastes great. I have made this twice and I received many compliments each time. Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 369) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

Chef John’s Lasagna

Discover the two keys to a great lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States