Alysia's Basic Meat Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
I made this recipe tonight as my first attempt at making lasagna for my husband. After reading the other reviews, I followed their advice and doubled the amount of sauce to two jars. I also kicked up the garlic a tiny bit and used a combo of ground beef and ground, Italian sausage. I found real, block provolone and shredded that, but I'm sure that it would have worked to simply dice up some sliced provolone from the deli, if necessary. To save the mess of an extra pan to clean, I first sautéed the garlic and onions, then transferred them to the saucepot. After browning the meat and draining it, I added the sauce and meat combo to the garlic & onions. I also precooked the noodles about 5-6 minutes so that they wouldn't soak up too much of the sauce, and baked for 35 minutes covered and 20 minutes uncovered. Perfect! I was worried the whole time that the noodles wouldn't cook properly, or that it would dry out, but it didn't need any extra sauce on the side since I'd doubled the amount to begin with. The addition of sausage and second jar of sauce was key. Can't wait to have leftovers! Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
270 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2003
This lasagna was FANTASTIC. I made a few changes, however. As suggested, I used 1/2lb mild Italian sausage in addition to 1 lb ground beef. I omitted the provolone, since I didn't have any left. I mixed together in a bowl 1 500g tub of extra smooth ricotta and 1 250g tub of cottage cheese. I added some parsley and black pepper to the cheese mixture. I layered mine sauce, pasta, sauce, pasta, cheese, pasta, sauce. I then sprinkled some grated mozzarella and a bit of old cheddar on top. I used the oven ready lasagna noodles for this and had no problem at all. Baked it at 350 for about an hour, uncovered. I actually used 2 8" square foil pans and for this recipe. Had one the next night for dinner and the other one is frozen. My boyfiend, who is Italian, LOVED this lasagna. So did his mother!! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
193 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niffer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
Very good lasagna. Good idea on doubling the sauce and adding some italian sausage. Tip for those who don't want to boil the lasagna noodles...just soak them in some hot tap water for five minutes or so to soften them up. Works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
I used my own homemade sauce with one can of drained no-salt diced tomatoes. I added about 1/2 tsp. of fennel seed to the sauce and I used fresh garlic. I also used small curd cottage cheese and I added 1/3 c. of Kraft parmesan cheese in with the cottage cheese and eggs. Really tasty lasagna. The provolone really was a surprize to me. It made the lasagna taste a little creamier, if that makes sense. I liked that when I made this, the lasagna wasn't too wet and it didn't fall apart when cut. I think using your own sauce is key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2002
I'm sticking with this one!! I made it for dinner party and had nothing left but a smudge on the bottom of the pan. The only thing I added was some mild Italian sausage for extra "bite", Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2002
I have tried to make lasagna many times and this recipe has been the best and the simplest. I have found some good ones that just require too many ingredients. I do add more sauce it seems like the pasta and ground beef soak up the sauce and leave it dry so I add an 8 oz can of tomato sauce. very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Fabulous recipe for a "Basic Meat Lasagna" and a great recipe for times when you want lasagna but don't have the time to make it from scratch! This is very easy to throw together and perfect for a hearty weeknight meal. So if your're in the mood for Italian but think you don't have the time - think again. I used 1 lb. of ground beef and 1 lb. of mild Italian sausage. I also doubled the sauce using Classico Marinara and added a little red wine and some fresh basil to give a bit of a flavor boost. I just layered everything as I usually do using no boil lasagna noodles which really makes things easy and topped it with a mix of shredded Parmesan and mozzarella cheeses. Great with garlic bread! (leftovers freeze well)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2002
Easy, good recipe. I liked the addition of provelone. I did stream line directions a bit to make it easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
I consider myself a fair cook. Never made lasagna before so I followed the instructions exactly. Now I consider myself a great cook. It was excellent and now my family is wondering how I got so good. Thank you for sharing, Kenny
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
I have never made lasagna before and following this recipe was a great first start. It was very inexpensive. The directions were clear and precise. I added 2 mores cups of cheese and I used ground turkey instead of beef. I love this recipe. I will definitely make this dish again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 369) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

Chef John’s Lasagna

Discover the two keys to a great lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States