Alysia's Basic Meat Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
This is an excellent and super-easy recipe for lasagna. I used a combo of ground chicken/ground sirloin, added mushrooms, and doubled the spaghetti sauce. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I took some of comment advice and added more sauce. I used about 1 and half jars of sauce. I also used 1 pound of ground beef and half a pound of ground sausage. The lasagna turned out great! Everyone loved it and it was really great reheated as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saranwrapper

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Best lasagna I have ever had, and it's really simple and easy. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Great recipe. I made this with homemade pasta. I used the Basic Pasta recipe found here that was submitted by Pat (great pasta recipe). I used 1-26oz can of Chunky Vegetable spaghetti sauce and 2-8oz cans of tomato sauce. I only used half of the provolone cheese called for because that is all l had. I did not cover to cook because it seemed moist enough. It turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
I used my own homemade sauce with one can of drained no-salt diced tomatoes. I added about 1/2 tsp. of fennel seed to the sauce and I used fresh garlic. I also used small curd cottage cheese and I added 1/3 c. of Kraft parmesan cheese in with the cottage cheese and eggs. Really tasty lasagna. The provolone really was a surprize to me. It made the lasagna taste a little creamier, if that makes sense. I liked that when I made this, the lasagna wasn't too wet and it didn't fall apart when cut. I think using your own sauce is key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
This lasagna was my first and it turned out wonderfully as a special dinner for my guy. I used 1 lb. of ground beef, two jars of spaghetti sauce (Muir Glen Organics) plus 1 can of tomato sauce, lots of fresh-pressed garlic, italian seasoning along with the oregano, sliced provolone instead of shredded (plus the mozzarella), low-fat ricotta, onion powder in place of an onion, and no-boil rice noodles. The noodles did mush up a bit, so next time I may either use more or try another brand. I followed the rest of the recipe as written, though I did streamline the process to use fewer dishes. To save time, I prepared the sauce the night before, layered the lasagna in the morning, popped in the fridge and then into the oven in the afternoon. Cooked on 375 for 35 minutes covered, 22 minutes uncovered. This was a fantastic lasagna recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Magee, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
It does one's morale a lot of good when people rave about something you've cooked, and this recipe will get you raves. I used 1/3 Italian sausage and added a half cup of cottage cheese, but the surprising thing was how people liked the effect of the sliced provolone cheese. I could not find grated provolone, so I had the girl in the deli slice some very thin, then made layers of that. People loved how every fork full had strands of cheese stretching back to the plate. It seemed to accentuate the cheesiness of the dish! This is seriously decadent lasagna, and I'll make this dish for the rest of my life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyle Gunderson

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Willits, California, USA
Living In: Springville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
This was my first time making lasagna and it turned out amazing!used hunts garlic and herb spaghetti sauce and added 2 six oz cans of plain tomato sauce. Next time I will double the sauce so there is extra to pour over the leftovers when reheating. I also used 12 noodles. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crete, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
This lasagna came out great! I tried using ground turkey instead of beef to cut the calories a little, and it's absolutely delicious like that. I baked it for about 55 minutes altogether, uncovered the whole time because I had run out of aluminum foil, and that worked out fine. I definitely recommend this to beginner cooks like me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 369) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

Chef John’s Lasagna

Discover the two keys to a great lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States