Alysia's Basic Meat Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Fabulous recipe for a "Basic Meat Lasagna" and a great recipe for times when you want lasagna but don't have the time to make it from scratch! This is very easy to throw together and perfect for a hearty weeknight meal. So if your're in the mood for Italian but think you don't have the time - think again. I used 1 lb. of ground beef and 1 lb. of mild Italian sausage. I also doubled the sauce using Classico Marinara and added a little red wine and some fresh basil to give a bit of a flavor boost. I just layered everything as I usually do using no boil lasagna noodles which really makes things easy and topped it with a mix of shredded Parmesan and mozzarella cheeses. Great with garlic bread! (leftovers freeze well)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This recipe came out beautifully. It is an excellent basic recipe with plenty of room for adding your favorite veggies !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This recipe is amazing. I followed the recipe exactly as it is. It really is a basic lasagna but still tastes great. I have made this twice and I received many compliments each time. Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I gave it four stars because I wan't sure if the noodle was supposed to be cooked or not. I followed others' advice and pre-soaked them. They tasted a little gummy-starchy. I used two jars of Italian sausage sauce...added oregano, basil, garlic powerder...yum! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Masa Bamm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I love this recipe. It's easy to follow without all the 'a 1/2tsp of this here!'. I do end up using more spaghetti sauce and I use 1/2 beef 2/3 mild italian sausage. Turns out perfect every time! Since I only cook for 3 there's always plenty to take along the next day for lunch and it's just as good being microwaved the next day as it is fresh. Genius!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Added sliced mild italian sausage and a little spinach. It came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Excellent lasagna without a lot of fanfare and so easy to make! I have tried many, many recipes over the years and this one is not only a great starter recipe, but a keeper! I also used two jars of spaghetti sauce as some reviewers recommended. And, since I had some Italian sausage in the freezer, I added that to the ground beef. Finally, I used cottage cheese (small curd) instead of ricotta to gut down on the fat/calories. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mountain View, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Rocklin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
My boyfriend loves this recipe. I usually substitute half the hamburger for sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
It made a ton- easy to make. Very filling! Minus 1 star=Too bland for us. That's probably not the recipe problem, but my choice in sauces. I agree with other reviewers double the sauce otherwise it would've been too dry. I also added a 1/2 pound of Italian sausage. I did not cook noodles first and their texture was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I made this 10/3/11. Used Newman's Sausage and Pepper pasta sauce. Didn't seem like there was enough sauce, even though I spread "thinly". Same with cheese, didn't work out to be enough for a 3rd layer. Ended up making it a two-layer, but it did taste very good and was said by one to be one of the best lasagnas they had eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coyote bob

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 371) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Lasagna II

This top-rated recipe is lasagna made simple.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Chef John’s Lasagna

Discover the two keys to a great lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States