Alysia's Basic Meat Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Great recipe and the family loved how little fat (really only the oil used for the onion/garlic and what's in the cheese). I followed all the quantities "as is" and it worked fine without more sauce although when making next time I'll probably make a half again of the ricotta mixture to allow another layer of noodles. Other change was I didn't have any sausage but the sauce needed "something" so I added some turkey pepperoni - perfect addition and kept the overall lasagne nice and tasty but not fatty. This recipe would also be fantastic with turkey mince instead of beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Made this last night for company and everyone loved it - rave reviews! I will definitely make this again - thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lilpug
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Very good, easy and basic recipe. I've made it twice, once using provolone slices and once using creamy havarti slices, plus shredded mozz in either case. I do not have canned sauce so I use 2 x 24 oz jars of Classico pasta sauce plus a about a half cup to a cup of water. Use half the water and 1 c sauce mixed to make very bottom layer & very top layer of sauce. Did a combo of ground beef and Italian sausage crumbles plus a small package of frozen spinach, thawed and drained, added into the meat & sauce mix. For me making in a 9x13x2 pan, this uses 12 lasagna noodles (4 side by side plus 1 split lengthwise and laid down the side of the others). Using the "no-cook" or "no-boil" noodles I don't pre-cook them, I just make sure every piece of noodle has sauce on it so there are no hard edges after cooking. My sauce is quite thick with all the additions so I can fit, from bottom to top, 1 thin layer of (watered) sauce, noodles, meat/sauce mix, ricotta mix, light sprinkle of shredded mozz, 1 full layer of provolone or havarti (6 sandwich size slizes), 2nd layer of noodles, 2nd layer of meat/sauce, 2nd layer of ricotta mix, 3rd layer of noodles, thin layer of sauce, even sprinkle of shredded mozz, even sprinkle of grated parmesan. My 9x13x2 pan is filled to the brim this way. I spray some tin foil with nonstick spray before covering the pan to avoid the cheese melting and sticking onto the foil. Baked at 350 due to dark nonstick pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
This is a pretty basic lasagna and really good. It also freezes very well. My husbands loves it. I have a hard time finding sausage flavored sauce, so I get beef flavored and I usually end up using a little more than a 28oz jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Good recipe! This was my first time ever making a Lasagna. I've always heard that lasagnas are a lot of work and a lot of ingredients. I agree!!! However the finished product was FAB-U-LOUS! The only alteration I did was use half ground beef and half ground pork. I really wanted to use ground italian sausage but my store was sold out and i didn't feel like driving all over Chicago. Great, great recipe, full of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cereneb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
My family loves this recipe. For the meat ingredient, I used 1 pound of dark ground turkey mixed with 2 sweet Italian sausage links. (about 3/4#) I cooked my noodles for about 5-6 minutes and I used only one jar of spaghetti sauce. I know others used more sauce but maybe because I cooked my noodles, it didn't require more sauce. Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hatch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Seems like a good recipe but missing A LOT of important data like not using all of the ingredients because you will need them in several places (garlic, oragano, CHEESE). The cheese was a big problem. it just says mix the chesse so naturally I mixed all the cheese which left me no cheese to cover. Honestly Im a little mad because it this is my first time cooking and its a disaster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Yummy. I also tweaked the recipe a bit too. I wanted more sauce but didn't have any more on hand so I used a can of original Manwich!!!! I also doubled the mozzarella. Wow this is gooooooooood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon MC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 371) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Lasagna II

This top-rated recipe is lasagna made simple.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Chef John’s Lasagna

Discover the two keys to a great lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States