Always A Winner Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2002
I felt there was too much paprika. It left the salad a strange color. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2000
My husband has always raved about his mothers potato salad and I have never been able to come close. Well this year he found a new favorite. I left the eggs out because he has never been fond of hard boiled eggs but it still turned out really well. I just went a bit easier on the mayonaise. I did cut back on the paprika because of other suggestions and it still gave it a nice color and flavor. I think they were right about halfing the amount. I also used frozen salad shrimp (a whole bag) it was more than the recipe called for but due to the lack of eggs I figured I had room for some give. It turned out nice. I also added some chopped celery. You can alter this recipe to your tastes and it still turns out great. What more can you ask for?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2001
Hey Debi, Was very anxious to try your recipe. Unfortunately, it did not meet my expectations. The cost of adding 2 cans of shrimp and the fact that you wouldn't even know they were there, was not good. Also, too much celery salt and pickles for my taste. Sorry, but I did not enjoy this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dale

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2002
This is the best potato salad ever...i don't use the full amount of paprika though, I don't like the funny colour it makes when you do. Other than that it is great. Made it when friends came over and they raved and my husband always asks for it. Definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATWALK16

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: May 28, 2001
Wonderful dish, my mom loves shrimp and she loved this. I added a bit of parsley and garlic though to add some of my favorite flavors to is. GOOD JOB!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
Alright, here we go. I read all of the reviews of this recipe, took them all into account, then ended up making the recipe exactly as written, anyway, and here's what I came up with. Yes, there's alot of paprika, but I like paprika, and the odd color only adds intrigue. Yes there are alot off eggs, and pickles, and yes, an abudence of celery salt, and I'll give you that you don't really get a strong shrimp taste. But! Put all of those factors together, throw 'em all in a bowl, and add two, (yes, two) cups of mayo, and you've got yourself a potato salad that's off-beat, mysterious, and strangely unimitable. At the end, my guests were eating directly out of the bowl. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2003
Delicious! Everyone loved it! Best recipe I have tried for potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERNSCOT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2001
My husband who always compare my cooking to his mother's cook said that I should make this salad hundreds times more. He loves it, and that is compliment! Thanks for the recipe. Ayu
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2000
I made this recipe for a work function, 6 months later, my coworkers are still talking about it! I highly recommend it (I put a note beside the dish stating that it had shrimp in case anyone had a shellfish allergy)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2003
This is a lovely potato salad recipe. I didn't use all the mayonnaise called for (only 1-1/2 cups) and used sweet pickles instead of dill. The shrimp is a nice addition, although it could be left out and not suffer . . . some in my family don't prefer it. This is a very large salad, so make sure it's for a hungry crowd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Almost Fat-Free Green Onion Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad that’s almost entirely fat-free.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States