Alsatian Chocolate Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
Really, really delicious. Kind of like a cross between marzipan and truffles. I also used a grinder for the chocolate - it was just taking ages to grate it by hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
this is a great recipe and these were fantastic. i made them for the french club's table at international day at my university and they were a hit. i even bought some of my own cookies, they were so good. instead of chilling the dough for one hour, i let it sit overnight so i could do the rest of the steps the following day. i used slivered almonds & ground them in my coffee grinder but i have seen ground almonds in baking sections at some stores. i used ghiradelli unsweetened cocoa (bar form) cut it up into small pieces and put it in the coffee grinder. a must try! very easy if you can take the time for the steps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
only ok, would not bother making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
I made these for my French class, and they were a big success. I would recommend using a food processor for the almonds and the chocolate. It's a huge time saver and it's really easy. I just used a small one that attached to my blender, so you don't need a big fancy one. Also, when you bake them, don't use a convection overn. I did, and my cookies didn't turn out as crunchy as I had hoped. This is a great recipe, I'm definately making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
So much work for not alot of yield. Not a great taste but the texture was good. I may try again and use a different chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2005
I'm 17 and I had to cook for international day in my french class. I didn' want somethin g that would require much work but this recipe was well worth it. It took me about 4 an a half hours and i used cinnamon graham crackers instead of almonds and they turned out really good. Everyone was asking for the recipe and came back for seconds. It has just the right balance of chocolate and isn't too sweet nor bitter. I'd recommend it for anyone who wants to impress a crowd or to spoil someone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
My daughter made these for French class. These were very tasty, but she rates them 4 stars because grating the chocolate is a bit of a chore. We followed someone else's suggestion & used crushed cinnamon graham crackers for about 2 cups of the ground almonds & left out the cinnamon in the recipe. Also added a couple of drops of almond extract since we left only 1/2 cup in the recipe. The kids loved them & wished we had made more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2003
I used a bread knife to cut up the chocolate and a coffee grinder to crush the almonds. Those two things made this easier and I have been making these every year for Christmas for the past 4 years. They are always a BIG hit. I suggest using the almonds and not substituting with graham crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELANIE17R

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashland, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
These are only ok. How they taste is definately not worth the amount of work that goes into them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2002
This recipe is awesome! For my French class, the final was to make a recipe and then do other work showing how to make it, etc. I chose this recipe and my class loved it. I didn't use almonds, however. Instead, I used crushed cinnamon graham crackers. Believe me, it is a great alternative to use rather than the traditional almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States