Al's Sufferin' Succotash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Let me tell it straight - I don't like lima beans. And as a whole, we don't eat many vegetables. When I do make them, we eat them because they're "good for you" and the leftovers go begging. But I was looking for something fast and easy that I already had the ingredients on hand and this fit the bill. Not only did we scarf them up as a side dish, I'm finishing off the last of the leftovers as we speak! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
Yummy! I added 2 more Tbsp. butter and also added about 1/2 cup of evaporated milk (I would have added cream, but didn't have any on hand) and let that reduce until thick. (I like my succotash creamy.) Hubby and I loved this dish!! I'm already craving it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIMSGAL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Findlay, Ohio, USA
Living In: Huber Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
This was very good. I cooked frozen lima beans in water/sugar/salt for 15 minutes. The water nearly evaporated toward the end. So I added some 1/2 and 1/2 cream and 1.5 T butter. It was sweet. My 6-year-old had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHOGGATT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
This is the best succotash recipe I've ever made. I made no changes, and my whole family loved it. Green chilis are one of my favorite ingredients, and I never would have thought to add them to succotash. This will definately be a regular. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin4mygirls
Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Middle River, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
We live in the midwest and have never had succotash before. What a delightful sidedish! This recipe makes many servings, so I froze some for another date. Very tasty...who knew lima beans could be good?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sleepingKelly
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
This was good. I was sort of standoffish at first, but the longer it cooked with the chilies, the better it was. I used splenda instead of sugar to cut out the extra calories. Even my anti-lima bean boyfriend liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sleepingKelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
Succotash is a favorite of mine. I make it using the cream and butter combination as suggested. Just before serving, stir in a pinch (just a pinch)of fresh ground nutmeg. That's the way my granmother made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
This was GREAT!!! So simple! So tasty! I am NOT a big lima bean fan, but my husband is, so I tried this recipe for him. He loved it and so did I. I will gladly eat my lima beans from now on if they are prepared like this. Thanks so much for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
This was really good I used the other reviewers idea and added 3tbsp of butter and some cream very yummy and a great way to sneak in great tasting veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Sheppard
Home Town: Sexsmith, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
Not good. I think you really have to LOVE lima beans. And I guess I don't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Mountain House, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sufferin’ Succotash Corn Salad

See how to make Chef John’s favorite fresh sweet corn salad.

How to Make Succotash

See how to make sensational, suffer-free succotash.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States