Al's Sufferin' Succotash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ReneePaj
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Used fresh lima beans and frozen corn, both microsteamed. Used less sugar and finished in a skillet with butter and a little cream, salt and pepper. I have never liked frozen lima beans, but fresh ones are a whole different story. They are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneePaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
Taking the suggestions here, I subbed the water with 1/2 cup cream and 1/2 cup water. Made a big difference. I did add the 1 T. butter, which was plenty (especially when combined with the richness of the cream). I only used 1 T. of sugar, which was fine. I was surprised the chiles didn't taste spicier. I added a dash of nutmeg as one person suggested and liked that. Finally, use fresh corn cut from corn on the cob--the difference between an okay and great succotash. I didn't measure the corn, but used 6 cobs and that was fine--think you could use as many as 8.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Just ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Really good. I didn't have the green chilies so I used a can of mexicorn instead and added a little extra butter. I am sure the green chilies would have been better but it was really good with the mexicorn too,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
I made this exactly as the recipe instructed (except frozen corn instead of canned because that's what I had on hand) and it was great. My family liked it, too. I noticed other reviews mentioned adding some sort of cream...I'm not from the South so I'm not sure what Succotash is "supposed" to taste like. Recipe as is, including the optional tablespoon of butter at the end, was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Being low on groceries and receiving a last minute invitation to a dinner party, these are about the only ingredients I could scrape up. I guess you could say I made the dish by default. Anyway, it was a hit at the party. 1/2 the people went back for more and the other might have too, but the dish was empty by then. I used half and half instead of water and added more butter as suggested. I'll happily make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustForFun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Nice combination of sweet and a little spicy. It was low maintenance to prepare and cheap as well. I did add butter and I feel it was necessary and gave it a little bit of richness that it would otherwise have missed. Worth a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ronalyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
My family loved the recipe. The chile peppers gave it a little zing. I will be using this recipe for company next month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Let me tell it straight - I don't like lima beans. And as a whole, we don't eat many vegetables. When I do make them, we eat them because they're "good for you" and the leftovers go begging. But I was looking for something fast and easy that I already had the ingredients on hand and this fit the bill. Not only did we scarf them up as a side dish, I'm finishing off the last of the leftovers as we speak! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sufferin’ Succotash Corn Salad

See how to make Chef John’s favorite fresh sweet corn salad.

How to Make Succotash

See how to make sensational, suffer-free succotash.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States