Al's Rum Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Everyone Loved It!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I tried this recipe tonight, just slightly added a few things and traded pineapples for mandarin oranges instead. I used 6 boneless skinless chicken thighs, marinated them in mango cruzen rum overnight. Then put the chicken and half the rum marinate in a pan with 2 teaspoons of crushed red pepper, alittle salt and half the 11oz can of juice from the mandarin oranges covered it and cooked it at 400 degrees for 30 mins, then took the pan out uncovered it and added the other half of rum marinate, plus the rest of juices from mandarin oranges, plus the orane pieces into the pan. I then put it back into the oven uncovered for another 30 mins, and waaalaa..... it looked and smelled and tasted delicious! My sons and i really enjoyed this meal, it's deffinetly a keeper, maybe next time we'll try it with the pineapples!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I was very disappointed by the lack of flavor in this dish. Perhaps this would be better in a slow cooker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Giles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
not worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kma733

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Very tasty! Left off the rum and used chicken legs instead.Took quite a bit longer to cook for some reason. Ended it with broiling for a couple of minutes after spooning sauce on top so that chicken crisped a little. My husband really enjoyed the sauce. Will be adding it to my rotation instead of plain old barbeque chicken all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2004
My husband loved this, and he really dislikes baked pineapples AND baked chicken. I added some seasoning (garlic, red pepper, and paprika), used thighs and added sweet and sour 5 minutes before cooking time was over. Definately repeatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Hamilton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
The recipie seems incomplete (it doesn't mention the sweet and sour sauce), and just guessing what to do with it and when to add it to the mix didn't work out to well. This tasted pretty bland. I don't plan on cooking anything with Al's name on it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
thought this was quite good. I used boneless breasts, cruzan rum, and fresh pineapple. LUX, calm down hon. :) Could use a bit more spice, I added some hot sauce after...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
Very tasty. Just poured the sweet & sour sauce on chicken before adding the pineapple and rum. Added about 25 min. cooking time. Will be cooking this regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2002
I found this receipe to be a lot of wasted time!!! I found this receipe to be a waste of GOOD RUM!!! You can't even taste the RUM, I wanted to tell you that if you are going to make this dish you have to adjust the RUM in this dish!! The whole thing is that you can omit the RUM by putting in Rum flavoring, while you put in the flavoring don't put in too much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States