Aloo Phujia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
This is a wonderful recipe Christy, thank you for sharing! I made it last week following the recipe to a T and really liked it. However I am Indian and like my food to be on the spicy side and found the aloo phujia to be good, but it was a tad mild for my taste. I made it again today and added one green chili, 1/4 teaspoon of coriander powder, 1/4 teaspoon of chili powder and about one teaspoon of minced ginger, and it had the heat I was looking for. If you're not into fiery food, I suggest making this per the recipe, but if you want a bit more heat, the few extra ingredients will give it that extra kick. Really terrific dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I used small red potatoes and kept the skin on, I also used half the cayenne and twice the cumin, plus 1/2 + tsp curry sauce. Served it over Batsmati rice-- Yum!! Next morning beat an egg, added some aloo, excellent omelet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gloucester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Fleming Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
These were really easy and turned out really good. very spicy but just right for us. making it again this week with a red lentil curry, batsami rice and naan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I was making the Cumin and Coriander Rubbed Pork Chops also found on this site and several users recommended this recipe to accompany it. The flavors of both recipes are very strong but do not compete with one another. They really complement each other perfectly. I definitely will make this again (and again). I used garden fresh beefsteak tomatoes and tiny gold potatoes. They have very thin skins (plus I hate to peel!) so didn't peel them. I used my dicer for the vegetables to speed up the cooking time. It was spicy but I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I just made this for lunch (sans turmeric since I don't have any, and added in a bit of garlic powder) I halved the amount of cayenne for the kids, and they love this.. good, cheap, quick meal... It's very good, Thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This was relatively easy and quick to prepare and yielded decent enough results. I doubled the turmeric and cumin, and used canned tomatoes instead. Next time I will use olive oil instead since that seems healthier and will probably give a better flavor, and use half the recommended salt. Although I'm a salt lover, the recommended amount was too much even for me, so I will use less in the cooking and people can later salt at the table. I would have appreciated some idea as to how high to keep the temperature throughout the various steps. This wasn't knock your socks off good, but it was good. I served it over basmati rice, and was an interesting and satisfying vegetarian dish. My husband liked it very much, so I will probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
These were really quite good. I cooked the onions in butter, to add some flavor, and increased the spices, including salt, just a little. Also sprinkled red pepper flakes on top and pre-boiled the potatoes. I would suggest using a non-stick pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
Added double spices.Wasnt spicy enough so I added jalapenos! Good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by squirrelgirl22
Reviewed: May 7, 2011
This was amazing! The recipe is perfectly seasoned, very spicy but not hot for hot's sake--the spices truly enhanced the flavor. Serving this over white rice transformed this from a side into a main. This recipe is going into my regular rotation. It's quick to make and perfect for anyone's Meatless Monday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
This was delicious. I cut the cayenne a bit and added cauliflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Vegetarian Korma

This easy vegetarian Indian dish is rich, creamy and mildly spicy.

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States