Aloo Phujia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This is to die for! I use can tomatoes and cook the potatoes before adding them to the skillet. (I like them on the softer side....) I only use half the cayenne and still find it delightfully spicy. Nom nom... Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by c3veggies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hudson, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Spicy!! I even cut down the cayenne and it was still super spicy. Great flavor though. Used half can diced tomatoes, served with red lentil curry from this site and some naan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jwilke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Relatively easy, especially counting in how delicious it is! I like to eat this with sausages :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mystica

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
The first time I made this I followed the recipe exactly, but felt it was missing a little something. I doubled up on the spices like some people had suggested...still wasn't doing it for me. I threw in some muchi curry and garam marsala...WOW! I make this dish all the time now. I use a whole can of diced tomatoes (juice and all) I also throw in some diced carrots and substitute one sweet potato for a regular yukon potato. If you cut the potatoes quite small (about 1 inch cubes) no need to par boil them, just sauté with the lid on for about 10 minutes. It won't be winning any awards for authenticity, but it's delicious and even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I loved this recipe! I used a little less oil, and added peas as suggested by another reviewer. I also substituted roasted red peppers for the tomatoes. Delicious with naan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
This is my new favorite side dish! My family and I could not stop eating it! I doubled the spices, as many others did and I added coriander, garam masala, dried cilantro and garlic salt. EXCELLENT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Living In: La Plata, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Good as is. I made it as the instructions dictated the first time, it turned out great & no changes are necessary. However, the second time I made this I made some modifications. I cut back a little on the oil (maybe 1/6 cup). Added a little more onion (2-3 small onions). I also like it spicy & flavorful so I added more cayenne & turmeric. Just as delicious the second time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
These were really good. we ran out of fresh so I used canned crushed tomatoes (8 oz) and added some frozen lima beans for extra protein at the same stage. These were not too spicy but delicious, I served them with naan also from this site. Next time maybe i'll add some heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marie17777
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I love this recipe. I have been making Aloo Phujia with a friend's recipe for a long time, it's quite similar to this one. I didn't have any cayenne pepper so I used 1/2 teaspoon of white pepper powder and 1/4 of a teaspoon of red chili powder for that spicy kick. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie17777

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Raquel Teixeira
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Very good but the only reason I am giving 4 is that I doubled the spices, added garlic, ginger and chili powder as well as cooked it with diced tomatoes - it just seems off this recipe, that there is no liquid to cook the potatoes in. I also microwaved the potatoes to ensure they would be fully cooked before putting them in the skillet. Thanks for the great concept though - loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel Teixeira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 21-30 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Vegetarian Korma

This easy vegetarian Indian dish is rich, creamy and mildly spicy.

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States