Aloo Phujia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
This recipe is very good, but I had to make some enhancements (based on the reviews here). I doubled all the spices except the salt and cayenne. I also added an 1/8 tsp of ground coriander seed (which probably could be bumped up to 1/4 tsp). To add some variety, I also included cauliflower, peas and carrots. I loved this variation and got rave reviews from the hungry (and picky!) crowd. This has been saved to my recipe box and I wouldn't be surprised if I'm asked to make this a couple of times a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thejill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
I really liked this. To cut down on spicyness add a can of coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
The whole family loved it, even the little one. SPICY, but worth the exotic food experience. A good addition would be Naan and some Yogurt sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
I liked it, my family did not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Tasty, nice and different. Pairs well with "Tangy Indian Turkey" from 30 minute cookbook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lexington Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
This is a good recipe, but it there's something missing from authentic Indian food (the stuff in India, not Americanized). It was a little dry, even with all that oil. Cube the potatoes small and the same size so they cook in equal amount of time, definitely add more spices (too bland otherwise). I've made it twice and have made it once with fresh tomatoes per the recipe and once with a can of diced tomatoes with the juice to give it more sauce (per a reviewer's suggestion). It's pretty good both ways. This is a tasty recipe, even if it's not authentic. I'll make it in the future. Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
This was easy to make and absolutely delicious. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
A decent recipe; could use more spices. I made this in addition to 4 other Indian dishes from this site for a get together and this dish was the least well received. I covered the potatoes and they were cooked perfectly in less time than the recipe stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
I've made this recipe twice now and I love it! I've used fresh and canned tomatoes but fresh was much better. I also added frozen peas and doubled the amount of cumin. Took me twice a long to cook even though I cut the potatoes small so I had to keep adding water, cover and cook on high heat for an extra 30 minutes. Tasted great and is now in the regular rotation. I might try to boil the potatoes first as someone suggested next time. Thanks so much for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chimeren

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Yum. It's tempting to par-boil potatos but the longer it cooks the spicier it gets - so I threw all spices in with the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Burke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Vegetarian Korma

This easy vegetarian Indian dish is rich, creamy and mildly spicy.

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States