Aloo Phujia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
I've been making Aloo Phujhi for years and everyone loves it. I always add some cut up sweet peppers, carrots and little broccoli. It gives it nice color. That's how they serve it at my favorite Indian restaurant. My family likes spicy so I kick the spice up quite a bit. I made this once for a party and the owner of a Indian restaurant was there and asked who made it and complimented me on how good it was. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DONNA1000

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockport, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2005
I really like this recipe. I make it fairly regularly and my husband loves it. The trick is to cook it over medium heat so the potatoes and onions don't burn. You have to cut the potatoes into fairly small pieces so that they cook quickly and evenly. It's so important to saute them uncovered first and then when you cover them for the last ten minutes, that is when they really soften up and steam. Don't lift the lid! If you have your burner at the right temp, they won't burn and they will come out perfectly. Sometimes I add frozen peas during the last few minutes of cooking time and I always serve this with basmati rice. My only complaint is that it makes my house smell like curry the next day! Otherwise it is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2002
Overall, it tasted good. However I suggest that you should boil the potatoes and remove the peel and then cut them into cubes. This way it takes 3-4 mins for it to be done and the potatoes soak up the spices much readily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2003
Excellent indian food, delicious, and spicy, the way i like it! I cooked the diced potatoes in the microwave while sauteing the onion, and added them cooked to the onions and spices, and they soaked up the spices perfectly. It saves time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2003
I tripled the amount of spice and added some green bell pepper. I used canned tomatoes instead of fresh and added some coriander seed and this recipe tasted almost exactly like the aloo subji that my mother inlaw makes. I found this recipe to be a very good base for an authentic Indian dish, it just needs a very changes for a more authentic Indian flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2002
Excellent and easy! I didn't find it too spicy at all. Instead of two whole, fresh tomatoes I used a small can of whole tomatoes; I just dumped it all in, tomato juices and all. It seemed to give the potatoes more of a sauce. I just ate some of the leftovers for a late breakfast, and this seems to be even better the next day. I don't know if kids will like this; I don't have any (which is probably why I'm waking up late enough to want the leftovers for breakfast). :) I was surprised at how well the potatoes cooked; about 12 minutes over medium heat made them perfectly soft enough. Make sure to cut the potatoes into small cubes as the recipe says, though; I can see how they might take longer to cook otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CHARI
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
Mother of God, this is HOT! So, why then do I keep going back and sampling it? Because it's awesome! I used light margarine (ICBINB) to saute' the onions on low heat, then added the rest. I did parboil my potatoes ahead of time based on what other reviewers said. I keep wanting to add "something" to it, but don't know what that something is. There's definitely heat to it and I imagine tomorrow, it'll be even better. Thanks for letting me try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2001
This was pretty good, but I had to doctor it up a lot. I doubled all the spices but the salt, but when it was done cooking I had to add salt to it anyway. I also added some butter to this to make it richer. It was good, but not wonderful....Okay, here it is two days after I wrote this review...I had some of this stuff left over and had it for lunch, and it tasted great. I guess the potatos had more time to soak up the spices or something. So I think this is a good "make ahead" dish that tastes better a day or two later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
I love spicy foods, but the cayenne in this dominated everything else. The cumin and turmeric flavors were lost! If I make this again, I'll definitely cut way back on the cayenne. Besides that, I thought this was a pleasant, simple dish. I followed the directions exactly and had no problem with the potatoes being either under- or over-cooked. Added some green pepper. Peas would be a good addition too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
This is a great recipe-- I make it all the time, but I double the spices and add cauliflower. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENCHAO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 280) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Vegetarian Korma

This easy vegetarian Indian dish is rich, creamy and mildly spicy.

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States