Aloo Phujia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
This recipe had little ingredients, very easy to prepare and an absolutely tasty indian side dish. A great way to use up potatoes. Followed as directed but used red potatoes and kosher salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
The spice combo rocked. We didn't use the same veggies at all. In fact we used chicken and leftover green beans and potatoes, and threw in canned diced tomatoes, but it was still amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Moody, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Wonderful side dish to chicken or fish! Enjoyed with blackened tilapia and steamed broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Juliet, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
I did personalize this recipe quite a bit. Based on other reviews, I pre-boiled the potatoes so they would cook faster, and I doubled the spices. My daughter found it to be too spicy, but I thought it perfect. I used purple onion for some variance of flavor, and I used sweet potatoes instead of regular potatoes because I like them better and they go well with spice, not to mention being better for you! Instead of fresh tomatoes I used a can of Ro-tel, drained. Next time I won't drain it, it could use more liquid. The chiles added a great layer of extra flavor and spice! I used olive oil instead of veggie oil and cut the amount in half, and I splashed in some white wine while cooking. I served this with Indian Naan II and Roasted Balsamic Cauliflower, both recipes I found on this site, as well as some saffron and garam masala spiced basmati rice. Absolutely delish, and I will definitely make again with my modifications!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pushbuttonkitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Creede, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
This is a classic in my house now. My boyfriend (who usually wants everything with meat in it) is now always asking for "that Indian thing I make." So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paulettep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I added smoked sausage and peas to this dish. It was good but not great. I like a lot more flavor and I expected that with the kinds of spices it calls for. I didn't use the cayenne because I can't handle spicy hot. Maybe next time I will try a different type of potato and use more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weslaco, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
Didn't really care for this, and don't drop the spoon because it will stain the counter. Sorry, this wasn't my cup of tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
When I made this recipe, my family and I had never eaten anything like it. The only thing I did different was crumbled and browned a pound of spicy sausage in a cast iron skillet. Then I took the sausage out and cooked the potatoes (following the rest of the recipe) and added the sausage back in when I added the tomatoes. This made the dish a whole meal that my family (even my two young daughters) loved. I will deffinately be adding this to our usual recipe rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centralia, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mount Vernon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Very spicy, but delicious...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This was fantastic! I halved the cayenne so my three year old would eat it and it still had a bit of a bite. I used a 14oz can of diced tomatoes because I didn't have fresh ones, I threw in some peas and a pound of cooked chopped chicken thighs to make it a meal. I'll definitely double the recipe next time to have more left over! Sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 280) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Vegetarian Korma

This easy vegetarian Indian dish is rich, creamy and mildly spicy.

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States