Aloo Phujia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Good recipe, loved the flavour. I did not find that the dish is particularily good with rice as there was not enough liquid. Also, I added garlic, which was great. Overall I will most likely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilskittle7

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Very yummy! I made a lot of adjustments but it's an awesome base recipe. If you're used to eating Indian food you will probably find yourself adding more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
I thought this was pretty good and my husband loved it! I added some curry powder and doubled all the spices except the cayenne pepper. I cut the oil to about 1/8 cut which left it a little dry so I just added about 1/2 cup of water. Turned out great! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
I blended the tomatoes with a little green pepper to get more of a paste and I doubled the amount of turmeric and cumin, but the dish was a huge hit. Even the guests that "don't like Indian food" were going for seconds and thirds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bissrok

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Excellent recipe. I tweaked just a little, doubled the spices (except chili powder) added 1 tsp mustard seeds (this makes it much more authentic) and 1 tsp sugar. All my Indian friends were very impressed!! Could also be used as a filling for samosas, almost the same flavor, you would just have to add peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
A decent basic recipe as is, but this just needs more flair to get 4 stars for me. After chopping enough vegetables as called for, I decided to add in a couple chopped carrots (which added great color) and cilantro for freshness (be sure to add it at the very end). I found it actually quite light on the spices; if you like spicy I'd recommend adding more cayenne to taste. It tasted okay but nothing fancy, and definitely not very authentically Indian - but hey - it's quick, easy, and can satisfy a curry craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Delicious. My whole family really enjoyed this. I made it exactly as stated, and I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
I really liked this recipe a lot. It had just the right amount of spice; usually my attempts at Indian cooking are disastrous for some reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erinmccartan
Home Town: Georgetown, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Wow, delicious, and so satisfying!! I am lebanese and was really craving something different I could eat with pita bread. I tried this recipe, but didn't mesure anything and added some mushrooms and garam masala seasoning. It was sooo good, exactly what I was craving! I had also made some home made mac'n cheese and had it on my plate beside this dish. Whether having this as a side dish with bread or mixed into the mac'n cheese or alone, It was amazing anyway I had it! thanks for the recipe the kids and I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 71-80 (of 280) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Vegetarian Korma

This easy vegetarian Indian dish is rich, creamy and mildly spicy.

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States