Aloo Phujia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
After making this the 4th or 5th time I'm actually downgrading it to 3 stars. The bottom line is that, as written, this recipe is bland and too heavy on the tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA
Living In: Douglas, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
This dish stores really well. One night we had it as a side with baked chicken, then with spinach and peas over rice, and finally, we used it as filling for pita sandwiches adding chickpeas and spinach. One batch, just defrosted and spiced up as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This is to die for! I use can tomatoes and cook the potatoes before adding them to the skillet. (I like them on the softer side....) I only use half the cayenne and still find it delightfully spicy. Nom nom... Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Coombs Sarley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hudson, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Spicy!! I even cut down the cayenne and it was still super spicy. Great flavor though. Used half can diced tomatoes, served with red lentil curry from this site and some naan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jwilke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Relatively easy, especially counting in how delicious it is! I like to eat this with sausages :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mystica

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
The first time I made this I followed the recipe exactly, but felt it was missing a little something. I doubled up on the spices like some people had suggested...still wasn't doing it for me. I threw in some muchi curry and garam marsala...WOW! I make this dish all the time now. I use a whole can of diced tomatoes (juice and all) I also throw in some diced carrots and substitute one sweet potato for a regular yukon potato. If you cut the potatoes quite small (about 1 inch cubes) no need to par boil them, just sauté with the lid on for about 10 minutes. It won't be winning any awards for authenticity, but it's delicious and even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I loved this recipe! I used a little less oil, and added peas as suggested by another reviewer. I also substituted roasted red peppers for the tomatoes. Delicious with naan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
This is my new favorite side dish! My family and I could not stop eating it! I doubled the spices, as many others did and I added coriander, garam masala, dried cilantro and garlic salt. EXCELLENT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Living In: La Plata, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Good as is. I made it as the instructions dictated the first time, it turned out great & no changes are necessary. However, the second time I made this I made some modifications. I cut back a little on the oil (maybe 1/6 cup). Added a little more onion (2-3 small onions). I also like it spicy & flavorful so I added more cayenne & turmeric. Just as delicious the second time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
These were really good. we ran out of fresh so I used canned crushed tomatoes (8 oz) and added some frozen lima beans for extra protein at the same stage. These were not too spicy but delicious, I served them with naan also from this site. Next time maybe i'll add some heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Vegetarian Korma

This easy vegetarian Indian dish is rich, creamy and mildly spicy.

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States