Aloo Phujia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I loved it, although some people thought it was too spicy. That is something that can be adjusted though, so it is still a five star to me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rexburg, Idaho, USA
Living In: Saratoga Springs, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Made this according to direction except I did boil the potatoes in a little water. My husband was born and raised in East Asia, and we both loved it. Served with rice, quick Indian lentils, vegies and naan. Made a quick, filling meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
This recipe is very good, but I had to make some enhancements (based on the reviews here). I doubled all the spices except the salt and cayenne. I also added an 1/8 tsp of ground coriander seed (which probably could be bumped up to 1/4 tsp). To add some variety, I also included cauliflower, peas and carrots. I loved this variation and got rave reviews from the hungry (and picky!) crowd. This has been saved to my recipe box and I wouldn't be surprised if I'm asked to make this a couple of times a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thejill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
I really liked this. To cut down on spicyness add a can of coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
The whole family loved it, even the little one. SPICY, but worth the exotic food experience. A good addition would be Naan and some Yogurt sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
I liked it, my family did not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Tasty, nice and different. Pairs well with "Tangy Indian Turkey" from 30 minute cookbook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lexington Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
This is a good recipe, but it there's something missing from authentic Indian food (the stuff in India, not Americanized). It was a little dry, even with all that oil. Cube the potatoes small and the same size so they cook in equal amount of time, definitely add more spices (too bland otherwise). I've made it twice and have made it once with fresh tomatoes per the recipe and once with a can of diced tomatoes with the juice to give it more sauce (per a reviewer's suggestion). It's pretty good both ways. This is a tasty recipe, even if it's not authentic. I'll make it in the future. Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
This was easy to make and absolutely delicious. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
A decent recipe; could use more spices. I made this in addition to 4 other Indian dishes from this site for a get together and this dish was the least well received. I covered the potatoes and they were cooked perfectly in less time than the recipe stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Vegetarian Korma

This easy vegetarian Indian dish is rich, creamy and mildly spicy.

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States