Aloo Matar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
My 2 year old son loved this so much! I substituted and changed things around a little, and it was still awesome - and very, very easy. We served it with a very simply whole-wheat roti (another family favorite here).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lisbon, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2004
Not bad, but bland. This could have definitely used some more spices. Furthermore, the potatoes came out under cooked. I would maybe parboil them if you are going to try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corner Brook, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2004
Very good recipe. But the potatoes need to cook longer. Add the peas when the potatoes are almost ready, or else they'll lose their flavor and become too soft. The comments on how to make the ginger paste were really helpful. Will do it again, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XVELVETX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2004
AWESOME! it tasted like a restaurant entree and really wasn't that hard! don't forget to stir a lot at the beginning, though. the recipe doesn't tell you to do that and i burnt a little of the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
Absolutely delicious, complex flavor - and filling, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2004
This was quite simple and really good. It took awhile for the potatoes to get soft, but once they did, mmmmmmm. I added a lot of garam masala because I love it. We had it over brown rice. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraKKH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: White Stone, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2004
This is flavorful! It has a sweet taste. I used 1 8 oz can of tomato sauce, and added water. Also be sure to stir the potatoes while they're cooking; I burnt some at the bottom of the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2004
This is a great dish; the recipe is easy to make and the ingredients are easy to obtain. I'd hate for someone not to try this recipe because they can't find "ginger garlic paste." It is really easy to make -- its just equal parts ginger and garlic. Peel, mince, and smash! Next time I make this I'm going to try adding some heat: cumin, tumeric, and some type of chillies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2004
I cut down the ingredients, but not the spices, since I was just making it for me and figured I could handle the spices...big mistake, there was WAY too much salt. I think it's got potential though, so I'll try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2004
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Vegetarian Korma

This easy vegetarian Indian dish is rich, creamy and mildly spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States