Aloo Matar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2005
Not enough flavor. Too much potatoe, not enough peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
Supprized - I really don't like curry and I dreaded the idea of having a dish with no meat; but for something that I found via searching for the only ingrediants I had at hand the other day it turned out to be a big hit! I added more peas and used diced tomatoes and a bit of tomato paste to thiken it up. I overcooked the potatoes when I boiled them first (on purpose as was in a hurry)so the sause ended up having a really nice thick texture to it. Was a wonderful last minute meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
Not particularly authentic Indian, but delicious as a side dish and very good over rice. I also added some peas to round it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2005
Great recipe...I tend to change things alot though: I only used 2 potatoes, and an entire large bag of frozen peas. Also doubled or even tripled spices. Rather than sugar I used about a tsp. each of cinnamon and cloves, and rather than paprika, I used curry and chili powder to spice it up a bit. To reduce fat, I only used about a tsp. of oil and that worked just fine. Using crused or diced tomatoes rather than puree adds some moisture to the sauce to pour over rice or dip Naan into.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mark P
Reviewed: May 27, 2005
Pretty good. Has a nice flavor. Note that this dish generates enough sauce to cover the potatoes and peas, but not enough to mix the result in with rice. It also took a lot of work to get the potatoes cooked correctly (despite the other reviewers' advice). First, at the beginning instead of cooking the potatoes covered for 15 minutes with the peas, I cooked the potatoes covered for 15 minutes alone and added the peas and cooked for five more minutes. Throughout the recipe I kept a little water at the bottom of the pan to help steam the potatoes and prevent burning. Yet, despite this, the potatoes were still undercooked at the end of the recipe; I needed to cook, covered, an additional ten minutes to finish them. But because of this, the peas ended up somewhat flat and overcooked. Next time I'll either boil the potatoes for a little while before starting, or cook the potatoes alone until they're basically done and then add the peas and continue with the recipe. I used one tablespoon of ground ginger and one tablespoon of garlic powder instead of the ginger-garlic paste. I used two teaspoons of dried cilantro flakes (instead of two tablespoons of chopped fresh); supposedly that's the appropriate ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2005
This was just okay for me. My husband really like it though. It was a little too tangy-I prefer some heat in my Indian dishes. I much prefer Aloo Phujia from this site because it is a lot spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
Another big hit in my family. Hearty and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
My 2 year old son loved this so much! I substituted and changed things around a little, and it was still awesome - and very, very easy. We served it with a very simply whole-wheat roti (another family favorite here).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lisbon, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2004
Not bad, but bland. This could have definitely used some more spices. Furthermore, the potatoes came out under cooked. I would maybe parboil them if you are going to try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corner Brook, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Vegetarian Korma

This easy vegetarian Indian dish is rich, creamy and mildly spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States