Aloo Matar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by KitchenWitch
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
This was yummy. I made it to use up some ingredients I had gotten for other recipes. I think it could use 2 full teaspoons of the garam masala. Also, my potatoes got overcooked and mushy, so the cook time may need to be decreased a little. This is good with rice mixed in with it. I served this with white rice on the side, as well as cucumber slices drizzled with Cilantro-Mint Raita.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
lovely recipe i just ate it on it's own.i followed the recipe exactly.however i did par boil the potatoes first and used some chilli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
This was great! I couldn't find garam masala (or most of the components) in my grocery, so I used a mix of curry powder, ginger, cinnamon, and a little pepper, and still got a great dinner (plus great leftovers).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
The blend of spices was pretty good. This needs much longer to cook the potatoes unless you chop them very fine. Be sure you only use the amount of potatoes in the recipe. Otherwise you have almost no sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Very good. Didn't have frozen peas so I used two cans and added them last so they didn't get too mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
Wow. So good! Pretty easy - simple ingredients that make a fantastic meal! Read other reviews and used an entire bag of peas. I also added more tomatoes - a can of tomato sauce. I didn't add salt or sugar, and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CatherineO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
This has the perfect combination of sweet, salty, and spicy. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
Great! I cooked this with some fish and baked it for an hour, and also served with sweet potatoes instead of rice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew Perrett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pacifica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
My boyfriend grew up in India so I'm always trying to make him his favorite Indian dishes, although I have trouble with alot of them. I thought I'd try this recipe because it's pretty simple, and it was a hit with him! He said it tasted wonderful! I did make a few small changes. I only used one onion, only 1/2 tsp paprika, and only 1 TBS cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Vegetarian Korma

This easy vegetarian Indian dish is rich, creamy and mildly spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States